Unblocking…Maybe

I haven’t written anything new here in about two weeks.   I’ve tried a couple of times but have been somewhat blocked.  I’m pretty sure if I had to sit down and start writing the next novel in Lola’s series I’d be able to crank something out, but I haven’t been able to do that with a blog post.  It’s weird how that works for me.  So far, for me, it seems that if one switch is on the other is off or at least turned down low.   Before I started this blog I wrote two novels pretty quickly and easily but once I started blogging the fiction light went out.  Then I blogged like crazy for over a year only to have that light dim when I went back to work on fiction.

I’ve been working on a query letter for the past two weeks.  I have two letters-one that focuses on the plot of the story, the other that focuses on the concept-and I’m going to decide with the help of my writing group which is the best letter and how to make it great.  I’m planning to start sending out these queries at the end of this month.

Other than that, I just wanted to pop on and let those of you who keep up with my blog know I’m still here and writing (even if it’s just letters).  The girls are home for the summer (no camps for us) and it seems that the time is flying by.  I’ve started my new job (academic advising) and we’re trying to stay busy with friends and fun.  I’ll be unplugged next week but will hopefully be able to schedule at least one post for you guys…even if it’s an old Owning Pink post.

3 thoughts on “Unblocking…Maybe

  1. Leigh D. Muller July 12, 2011 / 9:25 am

    I can’t split my brain either. Fiction is a totally different mindset from non-fiction (blogging), but I doubt I could work on two different novels at the same time either. Writing for me is all in — the project occupies 100% of both my conscious and subconscious mind to write, 24 hours a day.

  2. meeshelleneal July 12, 2011 / 9:23 pm

    Good luck with all the writing and fun and being away. Thanks for posting to let us know you’re still kicking around 🙂

    • lesleehorner July 14, 2011 / 8:41 am

      Thanks Meeshelle!

Leave a Reply

