Emotional Intuitive

Today I started reading Sherrie Dillard’s Discover Your Psychic Type.  The book (and Sherrie) have been on my radar for a long time and finally I have the opportunity to read it.  I just finished the chapter that totally gave me one of those “clicks” I used to write about.

I had pretty much guessed my type was Emotional, but the quiz score verified it.

Back in February my parents came to visit for Bella’s birthday.  It was a lovely weekend and when they left I felt sad.  In fact I felt more than sad.  I felt grief-stricken.  I couldn’t do anything that day but lay around and stare off into space.  At some point in the day I knew something wasn’t right.  I love my parents and miss them dearly, but this feeling was too much to bear.  It was then that the idea popped into my head that I was actually feeling my mother’s sadness.  It made sense seeing as she only sees me and her two precious granddaughters about twice a year.

Last week I was with a friend having coffee.  She was telling me about helping family members through difficult times.  As she talked to me I just started tearing up right along with her.  Even though she gave me no details, I could feel the pain around the situations.

Another day last week a friend told me they have a serious illness.  The news should have upset me but it didn’t.  Later I tried to figure out why I hadn’t cried (like I’m so inclined to do) or felt sad and I realized it’s because my friend is very optimistic and I could feel the optimism.

My relationship with Mark pretty much revolves around sensing his feelings.  Only recently have I realized that though.  If he is stressed out, I feel it.  If he’s happy, I am too.  I can sit in a cluttered house all day long and not notice it but the second he gets home I look around at the “hot spots” and get antsy.  Today he accidentally ordered the wrong flavor of ice cream and I was so disappointed about it.  Our relationship is the strongest and most loving one in my life, because of this when he goes out of town, I feel incomplete.  The love he has for me literally fills me up and when it’s not close by I’m depleted.

Those were a few examples of my emotional intuition. It explains why I have a hard time being in crowds and why I get so excited every time I go to Disney World (even though I’ve been there about 20 times now).  I loved what I learned in the emotional intuitive  chapter.  So much of it described me and the goals I have for my life.   And I have to admit I was crying even as I read the first paragraph.  That was a indicator it resonated.  This is what it said:

Emotional intuitives travel the path of the heart.  They are driven by the desire for transcendental love, connection, passion, and service to others.  They are in tune with the soul’s quest for a purpose-driven life and for the perfect union, which may be the union of the soul with God, the soul mate, or the twin flame, who is another person or entity that is their soul equivalent.

13 thoughts on “Emotional Intuitive

  1. E. Sheppard May 31, 2011 / 9:46 pm

    I have not heard of this book but it looks like something interesting! I think I’ll look or it at McKay’s bookstore when I go there again.

    I do like the Myers-Briggs types books. One is Please Understand Me by David Kiersey. I have taken this test three times and always get the same result. Thanks for this posting!

    • lesleehorner May 31, 2011 / 10:01 pm

      Thanks for reading E! I did a Myers-Briggs online a while back and it fit as well. I know I was INF but can’t remember the last letter.

      • Kiva June 1, 2011 / 8:57 am

        << INFP 😀 Glad I'm not the only one with this issue! 😉

        Drove me bonkers when, even after we'd not talked for like 6 months, I was still in tune with my 1st love. Love that last paragraph. I gotta remember to get back over here when I get the chance to build my library up some. LOL

      • lesleehorner June 1, 2011 / 9:03 am

        Yes! INFP-that’s what I am!

        Thanks for the comment Kiva-glad it spoke to you!

  2. Practicing Human May 31, 2011 / 10:32 pm

    Thank you for sharing your experience with this book! I finished reading it two weeks ago and loved it! It helped me understand how I function as an intuitive more clearly than I could get a grasp on before reading the book.

    I hope through this posting more people find themselves compelled to read this book. Again, thanks for sharing and hats off to Sherrie Dillard!

    • lesleehorner June 1, 2011 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting! I love the title of your blog and enjoyed the post hiding my spirituality in plain sight. I have felt that way here in the past.

  3. Sherrie Dillard June 1, 2011 / 8:14 am

    thank you for the kind words, I am so glad that you liked the book!!!
    yeah!

    • lesleehorner June 1, 2011 / 8:32 am

      Thank you Sherrie for writing it! I loved your description of reality-the here and now versus the timeless and eternal. I have been grappling with that issue a lot in terms of looking at the world and all the problems and saying they are “not real.” I could finally grasp the idea by saying they are “real” in the here and now but they are not timeless and eternal!

  4. Linda Eaves June 1, 2011 / 3:16 pm

    Leslee Hi there. Thanks for sharing your experience as an emotional intuitive. I operate from that area a lot too. Sherrie’s book is helping so many…. Next I want to get the Love one she wrote.

    • lesleehorner June 1, 2011 / 5:13 pm

      Thanks Linda! The other area I scored higher on was Mental. That fits as well because I am a skeptic and love looking for information and examples that things are in fact real! I’m thinking after reading her book I’ll have to try to get a reading with her!

  5. Monica Wilcox June 1, 2011 / 8:27 pm

    Do you ever think Leslee that we have learned overtime to unconsciously block the emotion of others? I scored the lowest on emotional intuition and was more than happy about it. I find myself turned off by people who create lots of drama and there are times when I’m listening to someone who is obviously emotional but I don’t feel it myself. At times it seems as if I should be responding too. It almost feels like a safety measure, so I don’t take on their “stuff” and get it all wrapped up in my own. Do you have trouble clearing yourself of other’s emotions?

    • lesleehorner June 1, 2011 / 9:31 pm

      I think that we do all feel others emotions to an extent and maybe also learn to block them. I also think I in the past have taken them on as my own…so I assumed it was me feeling all this stuff. One thing I read in the book is that an emotional intuitive might feel anxiety before a major tragedy on a large scale. I’m not positive it’s related but I was dealing with some serious anxiety the few days before the tornado in Missouri. I’m not feeling that anxiety anymore.

      I practiced meditation twice a day everyday for a few years. I was the most peaceful I have ever been. As I’ve let the practice slide over the past year or more, I’ve definitely felt more stress, anger, and negative emotions. OH yeah and I should say I got physically sick with a terrible flu during the height of the 2008 elections. I thought it was just my stress, but it may have been more than that. I am not looking forward to the 2012 election! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting Monica!

  6. meeshelleneal June 2, 2011 / 2:40 pm

    That quote at the end is so powerful and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

