Embracing the Goddess

Lately I’ve found myself thinking a lot about the Feminine.  On Mother’s Day I taught the kids at church a lesson on the feminine aspects of God.  To start the lesson, I had them all draw a personification of God.  Each of them drew some variation of a MAN.  I asked them if they’d even considered the possibility that God is a woman.  They looked at me as if I’d lost my mind.  God a woman?  Never.

Truth be told, I don’t believe God is a woman either.  I also don’t believe he’s a Man (even though by habit I refer to God as “he”).  I believe God is energy that consists of both feminine and masculine.  We have to have the balance of both.  When the balance is off, chaos ensues.  Our world is way off balance right now.  We’ve shifted so far to the masculine that all of us are beginning to feel the pain and pressure.

There is a quote that keeps popping up on my radar.  It is something the Dahli Lama said.  Something about the world being changed by the Western Woman.  I have to admit, I sort of buy into this.  We have to shift from the patriarchal “rule the world” attitude to one made up of compassion.  I think that women can lead this.  But I also think that we have to do it by embracing the  Goddess within us rather than trying to emulate male power.

Over on FemCentral this week Jennifer addressed some feminine issues, including the popularity of high heels and the rise of raunch culture.  Since I’ve read her posts on those subjects I’m seeing it and hearing it everywhere.  Rhianna sings about sex in a way that makes me blush and in Beyonce’s new video the women wear corsets and garter belts like power suits.  I know there are exceptions to every rule but I just don’t think women are wired to be aloof about sex.  I think most of the time, for women, sex and love go hand in hand, even if it’s just the hope of love.  I don’t think it’s as easy for women to separate the physical from the emotional and spiritual.  And that’s a good thing, it’s where our true power lies.

Our Goddess resides in our ability to empathize, nurture, comfort, and create.  Women are magical.  We make the world more beautiful with our softness and our love.  My big prayer right now is that this message gets louder than the one pop culture presents to our daughters.

3 thoughts on “Embracing the Goddess

  1. Jennifer May 20, 2011 / 4:40 pm

    I agree with you that God is neither male nor female. I actually don’t believe in a separate entity that is God but that the Divine is the GREAT I AM (WE ARE). But, aside from that, governments are modeled after this idea there is is a male powerhead in control of everything. I wonder if we have to alter our perception of the Divine before changes will occur elsewhere?

    Next week I’m focusing on aspects of the Divine Feminine, and they have nothing to do with raunch or how high our heels are. I hope pop culture begins to present an image that doesn’t make my 9 yo son assume that b/c he is male, he is somehow superior (which he questions me about on a daily basis, based on what he sees and hears all around him).

  2. ThePioneer May 22, 2011 / 12:04 am

    As an atheist, I see god as the projection of our best selves. On of my favorite descriptions of the goddess archtype is in the book The Elenium. It’s a fantasy novel and the goddess is seen in two personalites, lovely, gentle and kind preistess named Sephrenia, and a impudent but lovable child named Aphrael. The book is very good if you care for fiction, and I thought the goddess imagery was beautiful.

  3. Anna Costello May 23, 2011 / 12:23 pm

    When I was maybe 7 years old, our Sunday School teacher had us all draw God as we pictured Him. My picture got the biggest laugh among the teachers: I’d drawn God bald!
    Well, my father was bald…I don’t know if my mother (who was a teacher) or any of the others made any deep Freudian/Jungian-archetypal/patriarchal connections…but that’s always stuck with me.

    In my innocence, I betrayed my ingrained belief that my human father was God. I’m not sure how that plays out psychologically. I’ll try to find a copy of that novel the Pioneer recommends; I learn best through fiction. Maybe I’ll get some insights.

    –still trying to figure it all out

Leave a Reply

