It’s Personal

I’ve probably said this before and I know for a fact that guest bloggers and commenters have definitely said it.  Spirituality is a very personal thing.  The minute that you start applying your spiritual or religious standards to others is when judgment enters the equation.  Once that happens it is no longer about how connected you are with God.

I spent an hour today walking around Lake Ella.  I felt God there.  I made eye contact with every person I met along the walking path.  We smiled, exchanged pleasantries.  I admired the majestic Oaks, the geese, the odd dog-like ducks, and the turtles sun-bathing on rafts floating in the lake.  I walked to the rhythm of the music on my Ipod with the warm sun beating down and a cool breeze blowing across my face.  I had coffee with a friend, closed my eyes in prayer with her.  I asked God for guidance on my current undertakings.  It felt like I received an answer.  I counted my blessings and considered my role in this life.  I was in communion.

I can tell you about it here, but I can’t tell you to go and do what I did.  I wouldn’t expect you to see God in the eyes of the dirty man sitting on the bench or find those weird looking ducks the least bit amusing.  In fact, I’m not even sure I could recreate the experience I had today.  It just so happened that for whatever reason I had a spiritual experience by that lake.

In our world there are a lot of people with many different ideas about where and how to find God.  For me I find God by not limiting him.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Personal

  1. Beth Ann March 17, 2011 / 5:49 pm

    Amen. I love what you wrote and I agree. It can be so different for everyone and I find God in some of the most unexpected places. Glad you had a great experience by the lake today. Blessings.

  2. ray March 17, 2011 / 6:51 pm

    There are blessings every minute of every day. It is our job to find and appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

