Saboteur

I ended up taking an accidental break from the novel-writing today.  I’d found a dental appointment card in my purse one day and assumed it was for this Feb. 2.  I wrote it on the calendar and planned accordingly.

Today I dropped Callee off, did an errand to pass a little time and showed up at the office 40 minutes early for my teeth cleaning.  When I pulled in the parking lot I just knew I was there on the wrong day.  I went to the counter and discovered sure enough my real appointment is actually next week.

It was 9:30 when I left the office and drove home.  I still had plenty of time to write, I’d just have to do it in my living room instead of at Border’s.  Easy enough, right?  Not at all.  I came in and sat down at 9:45.  I wasted about 30 minutes on Facebook, then pulled up my latest chapter.  I read the first sentence and a voice in my head screamed NO!  I decided that the whole mix-up must have been for a reason and that I needed the break from the novel.

Of course, I didn’t want to waste anymore of that precious writing time, so I tried to rattle off a post for Owning Pink.  One paragraph in and the voice did it again…NO!  I trashed the paragraph and gave up.

So here I am and I bet you can guess what the voice is saying?

I’ve got one hour left, I guess I’ll have to use that time for cleaning.  (Holy crap, this must be really bad if I’m choosing to clean instead of write!)

 

One thought on “Saboteur

  1. Leigh D. Muller February 3, 2011 / 12:39 pm

    You’ve been burning the midnight oil. Your brain just needs a little break to catch up with your fingers. We missed you last night.

Leave a Reply

