Creativity on the Loose

I had a really wonderfully busy and productive day today!  I’d love to be coming here and sharing something spiritual or personal, but really all that’s floating through my head is the young adult story I’m working on.  So, once again if I’m going to write a new blog post at all, it’s going to have to be about writing.

Last Wednesday I began my new writing regimen.  I’ve done it now for four days (I took the weekend off).  In those four days I’ve written 6600 new words (about 30 new pages and 3 new chapters) in the novel.  In four days I wrote what it would normally take me about fifteen days to write.  I’m so excited about the progress I’m making and even more excited about the story.  It feels as though I’ve reached the top of the mountain and from this point on it’s going to be an easy downhill ride.

Today I was driving Callee to music lessons and thinking about my two main characters and their relationship.  I love how I am so gripped by these characters that I almost feel like a 15-year-old girl again.  I’m running the scenarios in my head and I feel as exhilarated and scared as L does.  I’m in such a hurry to finish the book just because I want to know what happens.  You’d think I already know this, but I don’t really.  What I saw in my head today completely took me by surprise.  It wasn’t anything I’d intended to happen until later in the series, but I saw it and even more incredibly I really, really, really felt it!

I have to admit I am super relieved by the point I’ve reached in this process.  I loved writing my first novel, it brought me back to life in so many ways.  When I wrote the second one, I didn’t get a lot of joy from it.  There was a lot of me in that book.  I had to trudge through some muck to create a story.  In the end, I liked it pretty well and I’ve shared it with a good many people.    After that one, I struggled to get back to fiction.  This idea I’m working on now came to me almost two years ago.  I sat on it so long, unable to write it.  In the meantime, I plugged away at this blog wondering if I was done with fiction for good.

Now I’m back writing a novel that is complete and total fiction.  It has nothing to do with me or anyone in my life.  No one should read it and wonder hey, is that me? because no one I know is in this book.  I feel so good about what I’m creating that I just want to cry tears of joy.  And if I finish the whole damn thing and everybody hates it, it’ll still all be worth it for the way I feel RIGHT NOW!!!

5 thoughts on “Creativity on the Loose

  1. Beth Ann January 25, 2011 / 8:32 am

    Leslie, So glad that your book is progressing along so well! It has to be such a feeling of excitement to see the plot build and imagine the different scenarios for the characters that YOU have developed I am sure it is going to be a great piece of work once you are finally finished with it. Good for you!!! 🙂

  2. Toby January 25, 2011 / 9:39 am

    I think that is great. I am always surprised how stories just fall in place once I start writing them. Sometimes, it just tumbles out onto the page, surprising me with its prescence, and pleasing me how it just sort of fell out. And for me, things can really morph once I get in the groove of writing. Once, I started a memoir piece about sitting in a particular strip club, waiting for a customer…and it morphed into a really neat piece set in the 1930s highlighting the life of a young girl in New Orleans Storyville district. I love it when the writing process is organic, morphing and winding, traversing all the deep and sometimes unknown caverns of my mind. That is a beautiful thing! Keep it up. Writing IS a spiritual process, dear old friend. And that process has, in fact, saved my life once or twice. I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Leigh M. January 25, 2011 / 11:00 am

    I still remember writing a frightening scene that became so real to me, I had to leave the house until it was time for Jim and the children to come home. That’s when you know your writing will affect your readers deeply and with the same emotion you felt as you wrote it. It’s also why its so much fun to write characters falling in love.
    I’m happy for you, Leslee. It takes guts to stick out all the long, lean years of learning your craft but as you’ve found out today, it’s a worthwhile struggle.

  4. Jennifer January 25, 2011 / 12:44 pm

    Well, I for one, can’t wait to read it! Congrats on everything you’ve accomplished!

  5. lesleehorner January 25, 2011 / 1:36 pm

    Thank you all so much!

Leave a Reply

