Tough Love

I’m super grateful for my cheerleaders, without them I might succumb to that inner critic and give up on certain things I shouldn’t give up on. But there is something really special about finding a person or people who will offer you a little tough love from time to time.

I remember the first time I went to my writing group and read the first ten pages of the book I was working on.  It seems like I was the first one to read that night and as I did I could hear for the first time how much my story SUCKED!  It sounded like it was written by a seventh grader and I knew it.  I wanted to cry before anyone in the group even said a word.  I don’t know how she did it, but Leigh managed to kindly let me know the book needed a lot of work but that I had real potential.  Although I left that night fighting back tears, I left knowing I was going to keep at this thing and reach the potential Leigh (and the others) could see in me.  Since then, they have always been straight up with me and their advice has rarely led me astray.  Even if I disagree with a criticism it still causes me to think.  If I can’t explain why the character or action is there, then it may just need to come out.  My writing group is a perfect example of tough love.  They encourage and compliment me but don’t hesitate to send me to the writing corner when it is necessary.

At the end of this day I am just grateful for those in my life who offer me support, love, and healthy criticism that inspires me to improve!

**note to reader-Please forgive the brevity and abruptness of this post. I chopped it up a bit last night.  I might have just written a new one if not for the exhaustion of the day kicking in.

One thought on “Tough Love

  1. Leigh M. January 22, 2011 / 5:17 pm

    The thing I love most about writing is we never reach our full potential. It’s the challenge that keeps us interested and the small achievements that keep us going. Best of all are the friends we get to know so deeply and quickly because we reveal ourselves with each sentence we share.
    I’ve loved watching you grow as a writer, a woman, and a mother. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

Leave a Reply

