No Defense

I have literally sat down at the computer tonight without knowing at all what I would write about.  A few days ago I re-read The Four Agreements and I definitely want to touch on some of that in a post eventually, but not tonight.  What popped into my head after that was something I read in A Course in Miracles this week.  Here it is:

Truth needs no defense.

In this world of polarized viewpoints in so many aspects of our lives, but especially in Politics and Religion, this is something that if I can take down to my heart just might set me FREE!  I don’t need to argue why I believe what I believe.  I don’t need to attempt in any way shape or form to pull you to my side.  At the end of the day Truth stands whether we’re there with it or not.

Next time I start to argue my point of view, I’m going to ask myself why I need to do that.  If my ideas are so shaky that they need me huffing and puffing, then maybe I need to go within and ask to see the truth.

What I have decided is that when I get to a place, especially with Religion, where I can hear a different viewpoint and not feel attacked, then I have truly begun to live what I know.  In the end, what you know intellectually can only get you so far, it is only when you are changed by it that you know it is Truth.

8 thoughts on “No Defense

  1. Renee January 19, 2011 / 8:04 am

    I think sometimes when people give you their view of religion, and it’s different from your own, it IS an attack.

    I’ve had intelligent and calm and interesting conversations with people who believe differently than I do and enjoyed the talk and came away feeling enlightened. But I’ve also come away from other conversations and definitely felt like someone was weilding religion as a sword.

    An example was when Chris’ mother asked me why I was a vegetarian. I told her because I felt bad about eating dead animals and she told me that “God put them here for us to use” (or something like that — can’t remember her exact words).

    I don’t think she meant to be confrontational or rude, and she doesn’t know my beliefs, anyway, but it felt like a punch in the gut.

    It can go the same with politics, in the way people explain themselves and offer reasoned, intelligent arguments (or reasons) over just telling you they’re right and you’re wrong.

    • lesleehorner January 19, 2011 / 9:10 am

      Yes, there is definitely the direct attacks like you mentioned, but even those (think back to those comments I got long ago) I want to be able to not take personally. But also there are things you read and hear now and then (book reviews, blog posts) that use certain spiritual books and concepts to argue against everything from a healthy self-esteem to vegetarianism to evolution. I often take those even more personally and feel this need to defend what reason and common sense tell me. But there is really no way to win and the battle is exhausting.

      • Renee January 19, 2011 / 9:14 am

        Not everyone is capable of reason or common sense.

        I’ve been drawn into conversations about evolution vs. creationism before. I never, ever start the conversation and I won’t jump into the middle of one if someone else is having it, but people have just out of nowhere for no obvious reason started the conversation with me. The only thing I will say is, if God is so powerful, why is it so hard to believe that he designed the world so that evolution would take place?

        That usually shuts them up and I don’t have to get into personal spiritual beliefs or politics or anything. I can feed their own beliefs and instill some reason into it. 🙂

        But I have no illusions that I’m going to change anyone’s minds, so I don’t go out of my way to try. It isn’t worth the aggravation.

  2. Jo Eldridge January 19, 2011 / 10:29 am

    Love this one!

    • lesleehorner January 19, 2011 / 1:21 pm

      Thank you, Jo! I’m so glad you’re back, I’ve been thinking of you. Maybe we can get together soon.

  3. meeshelleneal January 19, 2011 / 8:43 pm

    So very true and such a great reminder.
    My friend and I had a long talk about this just the other night. We feel that the harder you try push your point of view on someone else the less likely it is they will see things your way. At least that’s how I am. I get my back up when people become too intense or repeat something too often.

  4. Heather January 19, 2011 / 9:25 pm

    Les- I have to disagree that truth needs no defense – if that were the case, I would have no job:-( However, good point by the others that being too aggressive in “justifying” your position can result in the least desired outcome.

    • lesleehorner January 19, 2011 / 9:45 pm

      I should clarify that I’m mostly talking about spiritual truth here…though I did mention politics didn’t I?

Leave a Reply

