Dreaming…

Since the new year started, I have found myself thinking a lot about dreams and creating the life I want.  I’m always thinking about life purpose and I’ve entertained various ideas over the last year.  For a while I thought about Ministry and researched the steps to becoming a Unity Minister.  What I realized is that particular path would require me to sacrifice too much of the time and energy I give to my family.  I also, of course, thought about returning to teaching.  I love the time I’m with the kids at church so much so that for a period of time I wondered if I was meant to return to my old career.  I thought about going to school for a degree in Womens Studies, so that I could do something to help women’s causes.  In the end though, all I really want to do is write.

I’ve tried three times to get books published.  I sought representation for Healing Night, The Circle Home, and a book featuring the click stories from this blog.  With Healing Night I at least got a partial manuscript request and some very kind remarks from a few agents, but the others got nothing.  It’s been hard to write a new novel after that because you put so much of your heart, soul, and time into something you just want to see it reach completion.

My dream now is to complete this book I’m working on and the two that will follow it.  I can’t stop writing and I can’t picture myself in any other career right now.  I have faith in myself with this although I’m totally freaked out to admit that.  I don’t want to come across as over-confident or worse-delusional.  I am so in love with this story and these characters.  I want everyone to know them as I do.  It’s a story about soul connections, human nature, and transcending time.  It’s a story of a girl who gains wisdom she never imagined and becomes the hero of her own experience, while making the friendship of a lifetime!

This week I met with my minister for breakfast.  She’s been a part of my writing journey from the very beginning.  I met with her after finishing Healing Night and expressed my desire to be a published author.  She said something so powerful to me this week and I will always remind myself of it in moments of doubt.  She said, “You’re journey to becoming a published author reminds me of my journey to motherhood.  I always knew that I was meant to be a mother and despite all the obstacles that came my way, I still knew it was going to happen and it did.  It didn’t happen the normal way or how I expected, but it happened.  You’ve wanted this writing thing for a long time and I am confident it will happen for you.  It may not be how you expect or imagine, but it will happen.”

I am here and now, publicly setting my intention to get this book series finished and published.  I know it can be done!

6 thoughts on “Dreaming…

  1. John Ballantrae January 17, 2011 / 10:13 am

    If Healing Night is finished, why not serialize it on the Internet. Publish it a bit at a time. You might be building an audience, and you never know who might be reading it, or talking about it, or telling others – one of whom might be an agent or a publisher.

    • lesleehorner January 17, 2011 / 11:15 am

      Well, John, I guess I should add that I queried about 50 agents with Healing Night as opposed to 10-15 with the other two. Healing Night was the very first thing I’d written after 10 years of not writing at all and it was also my first attempt at a novel. Needless to say it really needs to be re-written again before I put it out into the world in any form.

  2. Rena January 17, 2011 / 11:07 am

    Great thoughts John— After all Leslee, we are following your blog, right? Let me know if I can so anything to help. Consider yourself as having an open invitation to be a guest on my radio show on BTR, The Soul Salon when you book is released. You are a very talented writer Leslee–and even if you bump up against some roadblocks, that just means you power -up to bust through them, or gently go around them…. but keep moving forward towards your dream.
    All the best!

    :+)RR

    • lesleehorner January 17, 2011 / 7:30 pm

      Thank you so much Rena for the encouragement and the invitation! I will gladly take you up on it when the day arrives…I think you will enjoy the themes in my novel series! Also, I’m not sure how long you’ve been a regular reader but a while back I published excerpts from my second novel. Here’s the link to the first one: https://lesleehorner.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/the-circle-home-1/

  3. Laura January 17, 2011 / 11:52 am

    As always, Leslee, I am behind you 110%. You are a great writer and will definitely get published!

    • lesleehorner January 17, 2011 / 7:31 pm

      Thank you so much Laura! I really appreciate your support and help along my writing journey! You are so awesome!

Leave a Reply

