The Book of Eli

Over the holiday break, we rented the movie The Book of Eli.  I think Mark put it on the queue and I had absolutely no expectations about it.  In fact if I was going to judge it by it’s cover and what I assumed it was about, I had no interest in seeing it either.  Turns out that I found it to be an incredible movie.

It had it’s share of violence, which would score points with those folks who enjoy gory fight scenes, but surprised me with a very spiritual message.  The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where in most cases men have resorted to living like animals.  Resources are sparse and bartering goods are the way of exchange.  All of our great US cities are in rubbles and technology is non-existent.  Eli (played by Denzel Washington) has in his possession the only lasting copy of a very important spiritual book (pretty obvious what it might be, but I won’t give it away) and is on a mission to get it to it’s rightful destination.

Of course along his journey he finds a colony of people in the beginning stages of creating a society.  The man in charge has his cronies on a search for books, in the hopes of finding the ONE book that will allow him to rule all men.  Of course there is the conflict between the good guy and the bad guy.  There are a few exciting twist and a quite spectacular ending (in my opinion).

It helps that I went into the movie thinking I wouldn’t care for it.  You are hardly ever disappointed if you expect the worst.  But I must say that I loved this movie.  It has stuck with me for days and I find myself returning to it in my mind.  It was an amazing illustration of traveling by faith and the way God guides you and protects you once you are on your path.

My favorite scene in the movie was when Solara (played by Mila Kunis) asks Eli what the world was like before.  This is the answer he gives her:

People had more than they needed. We had no idea what was precious and what wasn’t. We threw away things people kill each other for now.

The movie presented some very important ideals.  It reminded me to be grateful for all I have and try to live with less whenever possible.  Without saying it, it illustrated that God is within us guiding us to where we are meant to go.  It is up to us to stay the course and continue to go within for instruction.  It also showed that with Faith, you’ll get there and once you’re there (with Faith) you’ll know it!


Leave a Reply

