For Heather

I have been friends with Heather since I was 15 years old (actually you could argue 11 years old, since we were sorta friends in 6th grade).  She’s one of the people I admire and cherish most.  I’m pretty sure that somewhere along the way, Heather attached an invisible cord to me and when I get too far away she gives a tug.  No matter how different our paths have looked throughout the years, her loving presence has remained constant.

When I think of Heather, I can’t think of a person in my life who is more genuinely considerate.  She always has the right words to say to lift you up.  She has always encouraged me in all my endeavors, especially my writing (going all the way back to high school and my dorky poetry).  Meanwhile, she’s one of the most talented people (and writers) I know, who manages to let her talent speak for itself.  Heather will never boast about being good at any particular thing, yet she is actually good at everything (ok, well except singing and dancing and she’ll tell you that).

Yesterday Heather called me to inform me that she accidentally missed me on her Christmas card list, so I will not be getting one from her this year.  She apologized and explained the mix-up.  It was that act of thoughtfulness (seeing as she could have just ignored her mistake and hope I didn’t catch it) that reminded me of the card I found in a drawer recently.  It is not dated, but I’m guessing it was written in the months after Mark and I got married and moved away.  Here is an excerpt so you can see for yourself how sweet my friend is.

“I pray every night for each of you (you probably don’t believe that, but its true) and when I pray for you I ask for you to be happy with yourself-I also pray to have you with us more often because I’m selfish and I miss you.  Please don’t lose touch with us-and know that I’m glad for you if you are happy-I love you Leslee-you are a beautiful person inside and out and I truly admire you.  I know you will be a success-please don’t forget about us peons. Love Heather”

Thank you, Heather, for your love, friendship, and support.

Leave a Reply

