Do-Over Please?

It is Monday at 3 pm as I sit to write this.  I have nothing inspiring on my brain right now because today has been an epic failure.  My plan was to have an early meet-up with Mildred and then come home so Mark could head to work.  I was going to do some cleaning and take the girls out to find another gift or two for Mark.  Later this afternoon we would have gone to Bella’s music lesson and then we were hosting a little girl from Bella’s class for a sleepover.  It was going to be our first sleepover…very exciting stuff.  I was going to make them cheese quesadillas for dinner and eggnog milkshakes for dessert.  I was even planning to let them stay up as late as they wanted.

Instead, at 10:30 last night we heard the dreaded sound of fitful crying coming from Callee’s room.  Sure enough she’d gotten sick all over her bed.  I got her and the bed cleaned up, while praying it was a one-time incident.  It wasn’t.  I ended up spending the night with her in the twin size bed and running her to the bathroom 8 more times throughout the night.  She got sick one more time this morning and ran a fever for a few hours.  Once I was sure she’d keep it down, I gave her ibuprofen.  She is currently playing and acting normal for the first time since yesterday afternoon.

Needless to say, I canceled the meet-up with Mildred, shopping plans, and the sleepover.  And after all of that was done, Mark went out to his car to discover the battery was dead.  With help from the jumper cables, we got it started and he was off to work.  For the rest of the day I’ve done little more than stay on the edge of my seat with a trashcan nearby just in case the bug reared it’s ugly head again.  The upside is, I had an excuse to blow off cleaning the house…

Today is one of those days where I truly understand the meaning of the saying “Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans.”  Today Life definitely showed me who was boss.  For some reason we all needed to be home and resting today.  Let’s just hope I can get all the shopping and cleaning done considering I just lost a day…

 

8 thoughts on “Do-Over Please?

  1. Renee December 21, 2010 / 9:16 am

    I’m off work Thursday. I have to bake a pie and take Emma to a riding lesson at 4:30, but otherwise I’m free. If you need help with the girls so you can get stuff done, let me know. And I get off work at 3:30, too.

    • lesleehorner December 21, 2010 / 9:19 am

      Thank you so much. Just as I was finishing this post yesterday Mark came home. It didn’t take as long as he thought it would to get his tire fixed. I was able to run out and do a little shopping. And so far this morning the girls seem better, so I should be able to get more done today.

      • Renee December 21, 2010 / 9:21 am

        Good! Just let me know if you need anything, anyway. 🙂

  2. Beth Ann December 21, 2010 / 9:45 am

    Oh my—so sorry to hear about how your well laid plans went by the wayside but sounds like the bug is under control now. Hang in there–you were right where you needed to be–with the trash can in tow!!!! Hoping you get all the undone stuff done today!!! Merry Christmas!!!

    • lesleehorner December 21, 2010 / 12:09 pm

      Thank you Beth Ann, Merry Christmas to you too! And today is much better. Starting with the cleaning and hope to make it to the shopping later…

  3. Pat MacEnulty December 21, 2010 / 1:07 pm

    Oh, the joys of motherhood! I remember those days well. It passes, honey, and then you miss them. Have a wonderful, joyous Christmas and New Year’s.

    • lesleehorner December 21, 2010 / 9:23 pm

      Thanks Pat! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too!

  4. meeshelleneal February 15, 2011 / 8:05 pm

    Yesterday everyone at work seemed to be grumpy and/or went home sick. When I got to my stop I was informed that the buses weren’t running and the shuttle buses couldn’t get through due to a women’s march happening downtown, then I noticed that the milk I’d bought was leaking all over my bag, and when walking home it started to rain.

    I just laughed.

Leave a Reply

