Political Rant Deflated

Yesterday, on Facebook, I watched and shared a video link to Sen. Bernie Sanders speech on the Senate floor about the Bush tax cuts and our country’s outrageous debt.  Today I read Tom Degan’s recent blog post about basically the same topic.  I’d formulated this huge political rant of a blog post in my head.  I was going to title it “Tug A Whore.”  If you think about it our politicians are in the middle of a tug of war between “the people” and the “millionaire, billionaire, CEO’s and power players.”  Since in this game, money talks, to some extent our representatives are whores being bought by the highest bidders.  So the title “Tug A Whore” (which is how my daughters once mispronounced tug of war) is appropriate on this topic.

The more I thought about my rant the more angry and fearful I got.  I mean our country is in serious financial hot water and something has to give.  Meanwhile, our politicians in Washington are doing their best to figure out how millionaires and billionaires can continue getting more, more, more while cutting unemployment benefits for the people who have been laid off by those millionaires and billionaires.

I mean seriously people why are we even having this discussion?!? LET THE BUSH TAX CUTS EXPIRE ALREADY!!!  That is the easiest way to get our country some quick money without devastating the folks who are already devastated. Oh, but wait, we’re just regular people.  We don’t get our own lobbyist to go and fight for our rights.  We get to listen to a bunch of half-truths, check a box (vote), and hope and pray that life gets better or at least doesn’t get any worse.

And for those among us who say that Obama is a radical liberal who’s going to destroy us.  Good news is he’s NOT, bad news is he might need to be to keep this ship from sinking.  It’s time for someone to actually start sticking up for the majority of American citizens instead of just pretending they’re willing to.

When I wrote my post about being liberal, I heard a lot of reasonable thoughts from my conservative friends.  I could understand where they were coming from.  But on this issue, I don’t see how anyone who is NOT a millionaire or billionaire could argue it at all-unless of course they’re getting paid a lot of money to do so.

OK, I’m done with my rant now and apparently it wasn’t as deflated as I thought it would be.  Now, I need to go meditate on the fact that God’s got this and everything will work out.  Right?  (Please tell me I’m right so I can stop being so damn scared.)

Here’s Sen. Sanders speech in case you missed it.  And here’s another blog post I found that explains this stuff pretty well.

7 thoughts on “Political Rant Deflated

  1. Renee December 7, 2010 / 7:41 am

    Leslee, all I’m going to say is that if the tax cuts “expire,” my taxes will skyrocket. And I’m hardly a millionaire or billionaire.

    • lesleehorner December 7, 2010 / 8:20 am

      I am not sure of your salary or how it would work here in Florida, but I remember after Bush was elected when the cuts first began. I was very against them back then b/c I was all over Al Gore’s “Lock Box” idea and I paid close attention to how much money *I* got from them. It was about $7 extra per pay check and I got paid twice a month. I viewed it as one extra dinner out a month and I would gladly give that up to help the security of our nation. My salary at that time was 35K.

      Also, the sound bites I keep hearing in the news, even from Conservatives, are letting the “tax cuts for the wealthiest of Americans” expire. So perhaps there is a provision for those making less than X amount of money.

      • Renee December 7, 2010 / 8:29 am

        Sound bites are just that: A way to make your side look better.

        You didn’t have children back then. The child tax credit is a HUGE part of the Bush tax cuts and it alone will be cut in half. Anyone who qualified for EIC will see a major change, as well. Perhaps a childless person making $35K wouldn’t see much of a change, but people who have children and especially those who qualify for the EIC will see a major reduction in their incomes.

        They say “the wealthiest Americans” to get people’s blood boiling. It’s far more complicated than that.

        There are a lot of ways to reduce the budget without raising taxes on anyone. They just don’t want to do it because they don’t want to lose votes.

  2. Tom Degan December 7, 2010 / 9:34 am

    The American people have committed economic suicide. The damage is insurmountable. The American Century is over. Fasten your seat belts, kiddies!

    Nice site you have here, Leslie!

    All the best,

    Tom Degan

    • lesleehorner December 7, 2010 / 12:28 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Tom. I do enjoy reading your blog, though at times it scares the hell out of me!

  3. John Ballantrae December 7, 2010 / 11:09 am

    I’m not American, but I live in the world. If this is all really an economic or material problem, then a material solution will work.
    On the other hand, if it’s really a spiritual problem – how can we all live fully and in harmony with each other and with Nature? – then we need a spiritual solution.

    • lesleehorner December 7, 2010 / 12:28 pm

      And John, isn’t every problem ultimately a spiritual one? So much of this is about seeking outside for peace and happiness through material means. We have to come to the realization the culture of more, more, more isn’t working anymore…

Leave a Reply

