Grateful for the Book Tour

I knew I’d be writing a post like this.  I knew I’d feel changed and ever-grateful for my time with Lissa last week.  But to tell you the truth I thought it would be for totally different reasons than it is.

You see, Lissa is a Goddess.  She is a Rockstar.  She is a Rockstar Goddess!  She is grace under pressure with enough energy to light up a big city.  I was in awe of the way she moved through each day, accomplishing everything on the agenda, answering her hundreds of emails, and being loving and open enough to sit and talk with individuals after events about their very personal female problems.  She has made her way to the stage and it’s going to be so much fun to watch it all unfold and know I had a small part in it.

When the opportunity to serve as “roadie” was first brought to me I told Mark I needed to do it so I’d know if my career goals were right for me.  Since I started writing again in 2007, I have dreamed of a career like Lissa’s.  I wanted to write books and travel, speaking to crowds and doing book signings.  I’ve thought so much about this dream that in ways it has disrupted my creative writing.  As time passes and I see myself no closer to “the goal” it has really brought me down.  So getting to experience the “Rockstar Author” life vicariously through Lissa was just what I needed.

I assumed that I’d get there and think “YES!! THIS IS THE LIFE FOR ME!”  Instead, it didn’t take long for me to realize I thrive on the simple, quiet life I have.  I reserve the right to change my mind (which is something I am told Charles Fillmore, founder of Unity, used to say), but that high-demand-everybody-wants-a-piece-of-you  life is not for me.  I love that I can sit on the couch and read a book for an hour without feeling like there is something else I need to be doing.  It’s nice knowing I get to pick the girls up from school everyday and schedule playdates for them.  I don’t need to be anyone else’s Rockstar because I am one to the people it matters to the most.

During her presentations, Lissa often mentioned how you can leave your job but you can’t leave your calling.  Her calling as an OBGYN was to take care of women.  As the author of What’s Up Down There? and creator of Owning Pink, she is still answering that call.  This was something that flashed like a red light across my imagination every time she said it.   THE CALLING!  I’m not 100% sure of my calling but the trip definitely gave me some ideas.  Although I’m resisting it like you wouldn’t believe, I think it has something to do with teaching!  Just like Lissa, I left that traditional job yet I still feel called to help educate people (though I’m not exactly sure on the subject).

This Thanksgiving week, I am so grateful for the chance I had to test-drive the car before I plunked down the money to buy it.  Now I’m one step closer to the me I’m meant to be!

In honor of the holiday week the next 4 days on the blog will be low-key!  I am still in need of “click stories” if you have an “aha” moment you’d like to write about!

4 thoughts on “Grateful for the Book Tour

  1. Renee November 24, 2010 / 8:23 am

    Maybe you can combine your love of writing with teaching people somehow. Not every author has to do what Lissa’s doing, either. JD Salinger was a hermit until the day he died, yet his most famous book remains a best-seller more than 50 years after he wrote it.

    • lesleehorner November 24, 2010 / 9:18 am

      Yes, I often think I am more like those “hermit authors” than any of the extroverts I see out there. I am definitely going to continue with writing and hopefully this newest “aha” will take some of the pressure off and I can finish my book (series) just for the sake of creating something! And for now, I am loving teaching the kids at church, so perhaps that is the beginning of a path….

  2. Kim Jenkins November 24, 2010 / 12:34 pm

    Leslee…I agree with you 100%. I realize when things get crazy and people want more of my time, crabbiness sets in. Being “popular” (so to speak) isn’t what it’s cracked up to be. Freedom, independence and somewhat control of our time is where the bliss can be found (for some of us). I’m excited about your epiphany. 🙂

  3. meeshelleneal November 24, 2010 / 2:54 pm

    Such a great idea! Test-drive your dreams ‘before’ they happen.

    Now all I need to do is find a well-known actress and help her out somehow.

Leave a Reply

