The Joy of Serving

Right now, I am sitting in a tea spot called Hooker Tea in Tampa.  I’m drinking my first cup of hot tea ever (I’ve tried it before but never liked it enough to actually drink it).  Lissa Rankin is next to me doing the same thing I am, typing away on her laptop while sipping tea.  This is our last full and busy day of the Florida leg of her book tour.  We have a couple of hours downtime until the event tonight at University of Tampa.

This week I have served as the roadie/personal assistant for Lissa.  My duties include keeping track of the schedule, driving her to events on time, and doing what I can to make things as easy and stress-free as possible.  I have really been enjoying it.  My soul purpose for this week has been to serve another person, no strings attached, and it has been great.

Each step of the way I’ve found myself thinking of ways to help Lissa out before I think of what I want or need.  Somehow it’s easy to do this when it is “my job” to.  I don’t have to analyze it.  At home when Callee requests milk in a sippy cup and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with the crust cut off I wonder if I am spoiling her by giving in to those specific wishes.  When I look at the clock and see it’s almost time for Mark to get home from work, I’ll often scramble to straighten up the house out of guilt that I’ve wasted too much time in the day.  I get frustrated when I have to tend to the dogs in the middle of the night or wait for them to do their business when I’m in a hurry.  Sometimes, on the drive to Bella’s school on volunteer day I just wish I was driving to the gym instead.  My career right now (whether I’ve viewed it that way or not) is all about serving my family, yet I don’t always look at it as a joyful endeavor.  This trip has opened my eyes to the joy of serving.

My hope is that I take this pleasure and satisfaction I am feeling by helping someone out back home with me and to my family.  Service really does start with your own family, friends, and community.  I really believe that if I can hold this feeling in my heart and think of the duties I do for my family as gifts that make their life experience more pleasant, I will feel better myself.  It’s really quite difficult to feel guilty, insecure, resentful, or frustrated when you are giving gifts! I will set the intention to be mindful of my gifts of service and allow it to bring me joy!  I’m quite sure that all involved will benefit!

One thought on “The Joy of Serving

  1. meeshelleneal November 22, 2010 / 6:56 pm

    You’re awesome. Such a great reminder for all of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

