I Am The Way

The following post is written in response to a request from a friend.

I think that at our core we all have the same purpose in this life.  We know we have a purpose and we think it’s a number of things.  We go to school, get training or education, we find jobs, get into relationships and marry or co-habitat with those partners, we have children, we buy houses and cars, travel and take up causes.  Sometimes we are lucky enough to do everything we wanted to do and yet we find ourselves still feeling like we haven’t achieved our purpose.  That’s because we probably haven’t.  What I believe we were put here to do is to know and experience God, which is the underlying love and order behind everything in this world.

That brings me to the title of this post.  Jesus said “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”  Where does that statement fit in with my belief that we were all put here to experience God (again as the underlying love and order behind everything).  I know a lot of people who would say that they are experiencing God by accepting Jesus as their savior and worshiping him.  To me that’s just a less devious way of breaking the first commandment.  Jesus was a son of God just as I am a daughter of God.  He was not God, but he did what most of us will never do and that is came to fully know and experience God.

All true mystics and spiritual teachers, no matter what religion they label themselves, will agree that Jesus was one of the most God realized individuals.  He reached the level where he was living from that place within himself that is Divine.  The human Jesus was cast aside when he reached enlightenment.  So there are two ideas as to what he meant when he said “I am the way.”

The first is that he was speaking not as Jesus, but as the Christ.  Perhaps he had his hand over his heart as he spoke and was emphasizing that the path to God is found within the heart.  Maybe if we’d been seated at his feet he would have reached down and touched our hearts.  I imagine Jesus as a very humble man, I can’t imagine him standing on a pedestal and insisting that the only way to meet God is to come to him first.

The other idea which was presented in Paul Ferrini’s series is that Jesus wasn’t saying come to me, but instead he was saying to follow my lead.  Do as I do, live the way you see me living, practice forgiveness, keep an open heart, and love even your enemies.  The more you live from that heart space, where love and forgiveness preside, the more you are living as God.  The “way” is not to come to Jesus and hope that he will do something for you, but allow his actions and words to lead you to do something for yourself.

My spiritual journey is all about seeking the God experience.  And to me that experience is felt as love and comfort.  When I can shift an angry reaction to a loving one, I am connecting with God.  Jesus paved a pathway that I can walk along.  I can seek his guidance through books and meditation.  I can do the same with other mystics and spiritual teachers that are no longer here in human form.

Ultimately it is all about what makes each of us individually experience the love (God) which is present in us and all around us all the time.  If believing Jesus is God allows that love to fill you up than that is your truth and your way.  For me, I am comforted to know that following the example Jesus set will bring me closer to knowing God from the inside out.

6 thoughts on “I Am The Way

  1. anna November 10, 2010 / 9:09 am

    leslee … this is a most wonderful significant post …
    i’ve always felt praying to jesus was missing the point …
    the world looks upon jesus as the only son of God … he was a carpenter,
    a rabbi and an extraordinary teacher … the Christ, the spirit of God, was so realized and lived in him … his message was for us to discover that same Christ, the same spirit of God, within us … without exception, that spirit is within every individual, to be individually realized …

    “closer than breathing, nearer than hands and feet
    I and my Father are one … we must meet”

    thank you … leslee …
    love, anna

  2. Jenny Defx November 10, 2010 / 11:06 am

    Thank you Leslee. This helps me so much in knowing it’s ok to let go of the narrow “Christian” ideal of who’s going to heaven or hell. I always felt cheated and hypocritical when I tried to follow that path.
    Reading this and speaking with you about it helps me be free. Free to persue a real relationship with God. One that encompasses everyone in my life. It allows me to believe in me, that God resides in me and all of us and to love as Jesus loved.
    You are one of my spiritual teachers. Thank you.

  3. Dave Moulton November 10, 2010 / 11:49 am

    Everything we see, touch, and experience is God manifest; every plant and creature on this planet including us. So in that light we are all children of God.
    I believe Jesus was human, a great teacher but not divine; and when he said, “I am the son of God,” what if he meant we are all “Sons” of God. In other words God manifest. Believing this, “The only way to the Father is through the Son,” takes on a whole new meaning.
    The only way to God is through myself, because God is within me, God is a part of me, and I am a part of God. I am not God, but a tiny part of God manifest, and though me and the things I think, say, and do, God launches a new platform of creativity.
    All religions including Christianity do a great diservice because it make a huge mystery out of something pretty simple.

  4. John Ballantrae November 10, 2010 / 2:11 pm

    Lillian de Waters wrote:
    It is absolutely certain that Jesus never taught he was a disciple or student of Truth but that he was the Truth Itself. If you can’t see the tremendous distinction between these two positions then, for illustration, look at the great gulf fixed between mathematics and the student who is applying it. Surely you can see the great difference! The student-position is often one of strike and struggle, mutation and evolution. Jesus promised that the Truth-position would set us free from all such labor and contention. He never said nor intimated that he was endeavoring to find a certain way or path which would take him out of difficulties and lead him into health and happiness, but stated with unquestionable authority, “I am the Way – I am the Way, itself, – I am the Way here and now!”

    He did not teach that he was presenting a beautiful, glorious light which, if others followed, would bring them into eternal life, but stressed, “I am the Way, I am the Light, I am the Door.” Now, dear Friends, if Jesus is our absolutely perfect teacher, then it is certain that we shall ultimately arrive at this very understanding which he had, and so make the same claims and assertions.

  5. lesleehorner November 10, 2010 / 3:09 pm

    Thank you all for the comments!

    David and John-I dance around this topic so often. I once had an online conversation with an atheist friend. When I went through my whole explanation he said “In other words, what you’re saying is that we are God.” The point, really, of this post is like John said. We are all meant to be Jesus, not just know him or follow him but be him. And he embraced his God-hood. He knew the truth, he was the truth, but he was not the only one intended to be that “God in human form.” We all are meant to reach that point and it is the experience of God that I (vaguely and safely) described above. Until we reach that place we will never feel complete…something will always seem to be missing.

  6. Prudhviajith March 9, 2011 / 5:34 am

    i love jesus beacuse the god is very power ful

Leave a Reply

