Tarot

I’m pretty sure I first heard of Tarot cards sometime in high school.  I loved the idea of sitting down with an individual who would shuffle and choose some cards that would give you insight about your life.  I didn’t actually see cards or have a “reading” until college.  The reason I put “reading” in quotations is because the cards belonged to a friend and she looked at them and read from the book.  It was insightful and exciting, none the less.  It indicated something big in the works in my life at that time.  I’d just met Mark and if you’re a believer in the cards you could say they verified his important role in my future.

A lot of years passed and I forgot that small Tarot moment in my life.  But eventually my interest in divination resurfaced.  I don’t know in which order these three things happened, but I splurged on a reading with a professional, made friends with someone who’d just graduated from a Tarot class, and bought my own deck of cards all in 2007.

The reading I had with the professional was actually much more insightful on the astrology side.  She mentioned that my life would make a huge shift in 3-5 years.  I am right in the middle of that window now and I feel the shift.  She said it would have to do with communications and career.  Since I have at least a small presence on the web now, I’d say she was on to something.  As far as the cards went, well she looked at the cards and predicted that two things would happen.  Those two things haven’t happened yet and I’m not holding my breath.

I believe it was after that when I bought my cards and started hanging out with my Tarot friend.  She suggested a book called “Tarot for Yourself” in which you can learn to use Tarot in your daily life.  For almost a year after I kept a tarot journal and did daily readings.  I also tracked my cards for every year of my adolescent and adult life.  I found my life purpose card as well as my soul purpose card.  I was hooked on the cards.  If I was feeling positive about something the cards screamed “Success!” If I was uncertain that was reflected as well.  More than anything I turned to the cards to verify the feelings and insights that were already within me, although I’m not sure I was aware of that at first.

Over time I looked to the cards less and less.  Honestly I think once I began studying Joel Goldsmith I became more convinced that I already have the answers.  I can get them just as easily through meditation than through the cards.  These days I rarely pick up the cards unless I really feel that I need reassurance about an idea that I have.

With that being said, I do find it incredibly enjoyable to do “readings” for other people.  And it’s interesting that often the reading still reflects the truth within the other person, not what I think might be true about them.  I had one friend come over and we played with the cards.  Her outward question was about her career.  As the reading came up it didn’t seem to fit the question.  In my head I felt certain it was about a relationship.  I “read” the cards as best as I could and kept saying that I didn’t really know how this connected to her job.  Later on she told me her inward question was about a relationship and she knew exactly what the cards were telling her.

What I’m working up to here is this: You really only need to seek within for your answers.  You can do this in silence with a pen and journal in hand.  You can ask questions and write the answers that pop into your head.  You don’t need to look to cards, astrology, religious texts or other people.  But sometimes that is fun and comforting.  So, in the spirit of fun, I’d like to offer a Tarot “Reading” give-away.

If you are interested in a free “Tarot Reading” by someone who is absolutely not a professional and will be reading from a book and probably not adding in any personal insights please comment here.  I’ll take comments between now and Wednesday October 20th at 9pm EST.  Once I choose the winner I will contact you via email and you can send me back a  specific question, request a general life conditions reading, or discover your year card (this gives you insight for what to expect this year 2010).  I’ll type up your “reading” and email it back to you.  If this works I’ll make it a weekly thing.  But please keep in mind that I am NOT a professional.

6 thoughts on “Tarot

  1. meeshelleneal October 18, 2010 / 1:40 pm

    This is so cool!! Also interesting is that I have been studying tarot under a ‘teacher’ for a little while now. We just had our fourth lesson and it’s a lot of fun. One of the main things my teacher tells us over and over again is that the cards won’t tell you anything you don’t already know – but sometimes you may hide the truth from yourself OR need to hear it from an outside source for it to be more concrete.

    I’d like to enter this contest as well. It would be really neat to get a reading from ya 🙂

  2. John Ballantrae October 18, 2010 / 4:55 pm

    Hello. I found you via Google Alerts: Tarot.
    I’m not sure about silence and a pen and paper providing answers. Some ideas are just wishful thinking; the Tarot is more realistic. Impressions can be so wrong; the Tarot is more objective.
    Does the Tarot reveal only what we already know? What about when it shows what we have no business knowing?
    I picked a card at random for you – the 6 of Cups in the Rider Waite deck in answer to the question: What is Leslee’s future with the Tarot?
    You should make a lot of people happy with a weekly column. You might heal their relationships – with others, as well as with their own selves as they find balance. Remind them that all you need is love, and it transforms, while taking care of you. You can give people clues on how to reach their own personal high-points. Etc.
    I posted some videos on YouTube – search for johnballantrae001.

    • lesleehorner October 18, 2010 / 7:58 pm

      Thanks for the impromptu reading, John and your informative comment. Have you ever read “Writing Down Your Soul”? It’s a great book about journaling and getting really good insight from within. Karen Conner the author also mentions Tarot cards as another way to get insight. I’m taking from your comment that you are very knowledgeable and probably don’t want your name in the hat for a reading from me. Would that be correct?

  3. John Ballantrae October 19, 2010 / 2:07 pm

    My wife has been keeping journals for years, but I get bored after a couple of entries, though I’ll take a look at the book you recommend.
    As for being in the hat, please include me.

    • lesleehorner October 19, 2010 / 2:25 pm

      Thanks John! And I need to correct myself on the author of that book. It’s Janet Conner (I don’t know why I’m always inclined to call her Karen).

  4. Jennifer October 20, 2010 / 8:52 am

    Hi there! I’ll throw my name in the hat! I understand about the joy in doing readings for others. I feel that way about astrology readings!

Leave a Reply

