Where I’ve Been

So I didn’t do the whole unplugged announcement thing this time, but I have been out of town.  I went to North Carolina to visit family and help throw Kristin a bridal shower.  In at least one big way it was a “meant to be” trip.

My grandmother is 92 and is able to still live in the home she and my grandfather raised their kids in.  She is not exactly able to live on her own though and has a caregiver who also lives there and helps her.  Mema has overcome a lot of health crisis over the past few years.  She has had several hospital stints and frightening falls.  She always comes back from them though.  Last Tuesday night I received a message from my sister telling me that Mema had a severe stroke and the doctors thought this would be the end.  Miraculously she made it through the night.  I was already planning to drive up there on Wednesday and of course followed through with those plans.  Upon our arrival in NC the news was good.  She was improving but was unable to speak clearly.  On Thursday morning my mom drove the girls and me to the hospital to visit Mema.  She still couldn’t speak clearly and became visibly frustrated at her inability to express her thoughts.  She smiled at us a lot though and I even caught her and Callee exchanging winks a few times.   During my visit the doctor came in and said he was going to send her home.  Everyone in the room was shocked and only became more shocked when his next words included “Hospice.”  Mema wasn’t going to bounce back this time…or at least the doctor didn’t think so.

Mema did get discharged that evening.  On Friday I drove up to Kristin’s house to prepare for the shower and my mom called me that evening.  The most miraculous thing had happened.  Mema had started speaking again, clearly as if nothing had happened.  She didn’t remember the stroke or even her nearly 3 day hospital stay.  Physically she was about the same and would continue to be bed-ridden, but she was talking when no one thought she’d be able to.  She will not make a full recovery and I do feel that she has officially embarked on the last stretch of her life journey, but I am so pleased that she will not spend her last days filled with the frustration of not being able to speak what is in her mind and heart.  The whole family has been gifted with some more time.  Visitors have been coming and going, taking the opportunity they have been given to let her know what a special lady she is.  I am blessed to have been a part of that.

On Saturday we celebrated Kristin’s bridal shower.  Thanks to Heather AKA “Superwoman” we pulled it off without a hitch.  We had the shower at Amy’s mother’s house.  It was wonderful to be with Susie and have Amy’s energy all around us.  I also realized that I have some pretty awesome little girls.  They were so well-behaved for over 6 hours hanging out with adults (keeping in mind they had been in Mema’s hospital room for 3.5 hours 2 days before).

I’d say overall the trip was bittersweet.  I found myself unexpectedly saying goodbye to Mema but oh so grateful I had the opportunity to actually say goodbye.  And then of course celebrating the shower but missing a co-host so dearly.

5 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been

  1. OpinionatedGift August 11, 2010 / 10:04 am

    My ex wife had a great aunt who was much the same way. She died at the age of 86, a good 25 years after doctors had given her 6 months.

    Some human beings are just amazing.

  2. ray August 11, 2010 / 10:56 am

    Your post brought tears to my eyes. You are SO blessed.

  3. Alisha August 11, 2010 / 11:49 am

    Bittersweet, I’m sure. I’m glad you happened to be there though, at the right time.

  4. meeshelleneal August 11, 2010 / 2:20 pm

    I’m so glad you got to see your Mema.
    Welcome back!

  5. Crisi August 18, 2010 / 2:24 pm

    You really do have special girls and very well behaved and loved girls at that! Your visit was a true blessing!

Leave a Reply

