I’m Sorry, I Love You

Towards the beginning of the summer I read the book Zero Limits by Joe Vitale.  The book told the story of how Joe came to find and utilize in his life a Hawaiian healing technique called Ho’oponopono.  After reading this book I put some of the advice to work in my life.  The main tool offered in the book was the mantra “I’m sorry, I love you, Please forgive me, thank you.”

The idea behind this is that we are responsible for everything that comes into our life.  There is truth to the quote “there is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”  Basically you are the result of your past experiences and of course your experiences are the results of your thoughts.  So when something is brought to your attention it is because it triggers something in your consciousness.  You use the mantra as a way to “clean” out those negative or even positive thoughts and make neutrality (or Zero) your goal.  That is the state of purity and peace…the state of the Divine.

So who are you talking to when you say “I’m sorry, I love you, Please forgive me, Thank you?”  You are talking to yourself and God…you are talking to the God part of yourself.  You are a creation of the Divine and therefore contain divinity.

Now as far as the details of how it works, that I do not know.  Since I’m not very good at creating and maintaining habits I used the technique religiously for about a week.  I wish I could say I continued using it, but all I can say is that during that week I saw results.  I was reading the book as we made that 16 hour drive to Maryland.  In the car when the girls and dogs got restless, I repeated the mantra.  To my surprise, each time, things settled down and peace was restored somehow.  The entire vacation ended up being very positive, despite past experience dictating otherwise.

As you’ve probably noticed my focus has shifted somewhat this summer.  I’d say it has been the summer of “doing” as opposed to “being.”  I don’t think I’ve been alone since May.  So much of my spiritual contemplation takes place when I am alone.  I feel the need to get back to my spiritual pursuits.  But I also know that everything is as it should be.  I am doing right now what I need to do to get me back to the place where I can just be.   I’ve had the judgments rise from within me.  I am not writing what you come here to read.  I am drifting away from Spirit. Those are two of them.  And the best way for me to respond is simply “I’m sorry, I love you, Please forgive me, Thank you!”

So I pass this mantra along for you to use in those stressful moments where your mind and body over-react.

One thought on “I’m Sorry, I Love You

  1. meeshelleneal August 9, 2010 / 5:35 pm

    You are writing just what I need to be reading.

    Glad the vacation went well 🙂

    “I’m sorry. I love you. Please forgive me. Thank you.”

Leave a Reply

