Love is God

Quite commonly people toss out the phrase, “God is love.”  Some important people in my life are devout Southern Baptists and me, well I’m spiritually liberal,  I suppose.  A lot of the stuff that feels like truth to me is downright blasphemy to them.  But if we sat down and had a conversation about religion, God and spirituality the one thing we might agree on is that “God is love.”

I have a couple of blogger friends that are “nonbelievers.”  At one point in their lives each of them were very devout…one Baptist (I think) and the other Pentecostal.  Each of them for various reasons began to question their faith and ultimately left religion and “God” behind.  One of them wrote a series of posts the other day with the title “Your God is a Monster.” He was writing about Hell and how really sick and twisted the concept of Hell is.  He mentioned God and love and how nonsensical it is that a God who is supposedly so loving would send those who don’t accept his love (or his son’s) to be tortured eternally.

It is quite a conundrum.  How can God be all loving and yet have such violent tendencies?  So I had a little click.  What if we switch the phrase around:  LOVE IS GOD!

When love is God there is no room for torture and punishment.  Love can’t change it’s mind and stop being love.  Love will not judge you.  Love sees itself in everything and extends compassion.  Love is open and expansive.  Love will never use fear to control people.

My atheist friends believe in love.  My Southern Baptist family members believe in love.  I’d be willing to bet that everyone, no matter what religion, believes in or has experienced love.  Love is universal.  Love is one thing we all have in common.

There is a lot of debate about the Bible.  Many people believe that the Bible is absolute and is to be taken very literally.  Some people believe it is poetry and literature left up to each individual’s interpretation.  Some believe it was written solely to control the masses and has no foundation in truth at all.  I’ve never read the Bible all the way through.  I have read bits and pieces, some of which I found hard to accept and some that made my heart sing.  The following is one of those “heart-singing” excerpts:

Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy.
Love is never boastful, nor conceited, nor rude;
It is not self-seeking, nor easily angered.
It keeps no record of wrongdoing.
It does not delight in evil,
But rejoices in the truth.
It always protects, trusts, hopes, and preserves.
There is nothing love cannot face;
There is no limit to its faith, hope, and endurance.
In a word, there are three things that last forever:
Faith, hope, and love;
But the greatest of them all is love.

— 1 Corinthians 13:4-7
So what if we’ve had it backwards all this time and instead of saying “God is Love” we should be saying “Love is God?”
13 thoughts on “Love is God

  1. Beth Ann July 7, 2010 / 7:47 am

    Interesting way to look at it and I agree–that passage you selected makes my heart sing also. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today.

  2. Jill July 7, 2010 / 8:54 am

    Love this post. I do believe that Love is God. That they are one in the same, and that if more people could embrace this there would be more tolerance and acceptance in the world. Thanks for sharing here.

  3. Kristin July 7, 2010 / 9:58 am

    As the page was loading I repeated the phrase to myself. The more common phrase being God is Love. But then it “clicked” if you will. Love IS God. It is true, some don’t believe in God. But love is hard to deny. Whether it is the smiling face of a precious baby, the beautiful flowers in the garden or the unconditional kisses from a puppy, love is all around us. Beautiful post Leslee. I love you. 🙂

    • lesleehorner July 7, 2010 / 10:05 am

      Awww, this is your first comment on my personal blog! Thank you! I love you too!!!

  4. Darkwulfe July 7, 2010 / 10:29 am

    This is a great post, if only people actually felt that way. The world would be a much better place.

  5. Albert July 7, 2010 / 1:53 pm

    So if love is god… which also means: god is life…that’s only one half of the cosmic life/death equation. and that’s the problem with “God”. It’s a one-sided coin… it does not exist. and, it is why religion does not work.

    http://www.ANaturalPhilosophy.com

  6. Alisha July 7, 2010 / 3:55 pm

    I totally, totally agree. Like your friend, I too just couldn’t wrap my mind around the fact that a God who was supposedly so loving would be so hurtful to those he loved the most. I have chosen to believe that if I just love, then that will be good enough.

  7. freethinkep July 8, 2010 / 3:14 am

    I’m kind of torn on this. I agree that love is both something awesome and something that we all strive for in one way or another. So then, why not just cut the word “god” out of the equation? Switch it to something like “The meaning of life is to love” or something like that and you’ve just saved yourself all sorts of problems.

    • lesleehorner July 8, 2010 / 8:02 am

      You have a really good point! God is such a charged word. I have actually written a post about that before if you are interested in checking it out.

      https://lesleehorner.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/the-word-god/

      Thanks for stopping by the blog! I’ve enjoyed reading your comment’s on Rage’s blog. (Is that right?)

    • lesleehorner July 8, 2010 / 11:27 am

      I realized I may have mistaken you for someone else as you have the same photo as a commenter on Rage’s sight. Sorry about that! Thanks for visiting and commenting though…again excellent point!

      • freethinkep July 8, 2010 / 3:30 pm

        No worries, I will check out that post though!
        Thanks!

  8. Barbara July 8, 2010 / 6:59 pm

    It’s interesting to note that Judaism do not include a concept of “Hell”. There is Gehanna, which is essentially a place where spiritual purity is attained before ascension to Gan Eden (Garden of Eden). How long you stay in Gehanna depends on how you’ve lived your life and how much spiritual cleansing you need to perform.

    Of course, the definitions vary as wildly as the sects within Judaism.

    • lesleehorner July 8, 2010 / 7:14 pm

      Yes, I know very little about other religions. I wrote a post for tomorrow and started to say religion, but then realized when I say that I can only really speak for Christianity and even more specific, Baptist.

Leave a Reply

