Packing

It’s Wednesday night.  After I write this I am going into my bedroom to finish packing.  Tomorrow I am fulfilling one of my New Year’s wishes and heading to the Amrit Yoga Institute for the annual Goddess weekend.  I haven’t talked about it to too many people because I didn’t expect to be going and only decided to go about 4 weeks ago when other summer plans fell through.

I went on this retreat two years ago and a part of me has longed to go back ever since.  Two years ago it was one of the most relaxing and transformative weekends in a very long time.  That weekend I discovered that I LOVE to paint, although I’m not incredibly good at it.  I painted this huge painting and put a little queen in the corner.  When I came home and displayed the picture, Mark asked me why I had painted the Burger King.  Sure enough upon further observation I realized my queen looked more like that strange mascot on the commercials than what I’d intended her to be.

I know more what I am getting into this year.  I am trying to let go of expectations though.  I have in moments wondered what I will express through painting this time.  I have been through quite a bit since I was last at Amrit.  I wonder if I will express through color the spectrum of emotions I’ve experienced.  I am certainly not the same person I was two years ago.

When I was last there we explored archetypes.   Mine was the magical child.  It feels like the magical child influence  is no longer prevalent in my life.   I’ve been initiated into a different kind of adulthood now, the kind where you really know what loss feels like.

So as you read this on Friday, I am re-connecting and re-charging.  I am on the retreat my soul has been yearning for.  I am grateful for the opportunity to do this and hope to come back a little better than I am as I pack…

Here’s a picture of the painting I did two years ago:

5 thoughts on “Packing

  1. Winslow June 4, 2010 / 8:44 am

    I hope you’re having a wonderful experience, dearest Leslee. You deserve it. Thank you for your continued open sharing of an extraordinary, personal, and universal journey. Love, Winslow

  2. Darkwulfe June 4, 2010 / 10:12 am

    I hope you have a great time. Be safe and have fun.

  3. eastkentuckygal June 4, 2010 / 4:21 pm

    Have a blessed weekend. A yoga retreat sounds really nice!

  4. rageomatic June 5, 2010 / 4:34 pm

    Leslee, its always hard for me to really get into your spiritual posts, but I hope you have a great weekend.

  5. Karen June 10, 2010 / 5:49 am

    Wonderful painting and great blogging. Hope you decide to share the new one and the sculpture.

Leave a Reply

