Summer Changes for the Blog

Hey everyone!  Last Tuesday I had an epiphany that I should take the summer off from blogging.  I started planning how I would make this coming week my final week for the next 3 months or so.    I came up with some reasons and excuses for doing this, two of them being the most important.  The first is that my girls will be out of school for the summer.  They are enrolled in no summer camps or programs so that we can spend lots of time together.  Lately Callee has become a bit of a mischief maker and I’m pretty sure it’s because she’s growing tired of entertaining herself while Bella is away at school.  I hope to provide them with lots of fun activities and attention this summer!  The other reason is that quite simply I’ve become too attached to my online life and I really need to reconnect with my real life.  I want to be better and do more for the people that I can see, touch, and talk to.  I also want to create and maintain a spiritual practice that will connect me more deeply to the “Something Within”.

So after coming up with the idea and the reasons I began to share with friends.  Most of them advised me to do whatever felt right, but one of them simply said it was a bad idea.  He pointed out that he thought my postings lately have been really good.  He reminded me that I have built a community.  He said the magic word: BALANCE.  “You just need to find a balance.”  With that I was sold.  I don’t need to quit blogging, I just need to create balance.

As of right now my plan is this:  Friday, June 4th will be the last day of the current 7-day-a-week posting schedule.  For the summer I will begin a 3-day-a-week schedule Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays.  I will not solicit any new click stories, but any I receive will be posted on Wednesdays.  I will also be writing for Owning Pink so after their new site launches in June if you really want to read more from me, you should be able to find something there.

4 thoughts on “Summer Changes for the Blog

  1. Kate Loving Shenk May 29, 2010 / 7:37 am

    Wise choice–As committed bloggers, we have a responsibility to follow through with what we have started!!

  2. OpinionatedGift May 29, 2010 / 9:17 am

    Very clever person, this advice giver on balance. Wonder if he’s mastered that himself. heh heh.

  3. Darkwulfe May 29, 2010 / 12:06 pm

    Great advice…don’t tell the ***hat that told you that that I said it was good advice…it will go to his head and he is impossible to handle. Glad you are going to be around.

  4. Jenny Defx May 29, 2010 / 2:27 pm

    Thank goodness for @sshats and your willingness to listen to them. Great new start for a balanced life.

    The topic has inspired me to find some balance of my own (I feel a post coming on…)

    Love you Leslee!

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

