Living the Questions

Recently someone commented on an old post.  It gave me the opportunity to reread that post and the comments on it.  A friend of mine had left the following quote in her comment.  She’d read it and thought of me.

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions”

I remember that when I read it the first time I had thought It sounds very lovely, but I don’t really get it. What does it really mean to live the questions?

So yesterday I had a very emotional day.  I reconnected with two old friends, one in person and one by phone.  I didn’t express everything that was in my heart with either of them.  I knew that if I’d opened my mouth to actually speak what I was feeling I would just turn into a weeping mess.  The gist is that I realized in talking with them that I had unintentionally and unknowingly pushed them both away.  In the past couple of years I have been so busy seeking the answers, that I’ve let important things and people slip away.

At the end of the day I was thinking more about it and this quote popped into my head.  I had lost friendships and connections because I wasn’t “living the questions.”  I don’t need to have the answers and in fact the harder I look for them the less likely they are to come.  The answers will find me when I am ready to receive them.  It’s just like the quote.  I didn’t get it at first because I didn’t need to.  Maybe at that point I was too immersed in my seeking to appreciate the powerful message my friend was presenting me with.    But now, I GET IT!

Living the questions to me is to ask, expect to receive when the timing is right, and LET GO of the need to know.  Get back to living and loving while the Universe gets to work on the how and when.  The answer will arrive and you will just KNOW it’s time to take action.  I am going to stop acting like the kid in the back seat saying “Are we there yet?”  I am going to be present in my life and have confidence that I’ll be led to the right step when I am truly ready to take it.

5 thoughts on “Living the Questions

  1. Rob May 10, 2010 / 10:15 am

    When a little kid asks, “are we there yet,” that question actually makes sense as there is a specific destination for the “there.” When we ask that question in a spiritual context, it doesn’t hold up as well. Many years ago I used to think that there was a ‘spiritual there’ there that I would arrive at one day and be done with it.

    I’ve since learned that it doesn’t work that way; each time when I reach a new, and ‘higher’ state of consciousness than what I had been living (and that I had imagined would be the ‘end point’ aka “enlightenment”) I soon see new possibilities off in the far distance.

    Rather than frustrate me, I now see this continual progress as an eternal process that, if understood as such, brings peace and the knowledge that I need not be concerned with what may seem to be a lack of spiritual progress. For me at least, each new advance is followed by a ‘plateau’ where the new experiences are assimilated (and where it seems like nothing much is going on), but at the right time a new advance is made and the process continues. The only limit to this process is my own devotion and discipline in ‘practicing the presence.’ You definitely get out of it EXACTLY what you put into it.

  2. Laurie May 10, 2010 / 6:54 pm

    This one speaks to me… Life is what happens when plans don’t go our way. I try to control everything.. yet it never works out – then I just “give up” the control and I end up having the best day. Good read!
    Laurie

    • lesleehorner May 11, 2010 / 8:18 am

      You know that your the one who sent me this quote right? I’m thinking of even doing my church talk on it, so thanks!!

      • Laurie May 17, 2010 / 3:10 pm

        My quote??? WOW! Well I would love to talk again – When are you not busy.. that is a stupid question.. When can you talk again?

Leave a Reply

