Happy Blogoversary!!

So today, May 3, 2009, marks the one year anniversary of this blog.  I published my very first post a year ago today.  I used the “law of three” as my reason for starting Waiting for the Click.  I attended a writer’s conference in April of 2009 and listened to a literary agent talk about “how to get published.”  One suggestion she made was to write a blog and build a following.  At that point the only blog I’d ever read was Dooce and I didn’t want to write the details of my everyday family life.  As much as I admire her, I’m no Heather Armstrong.  I didn’t see how I could make toasting waffles for the girls and watching Netflix rentals with Mark interesting.  My everyday life is pretty simple and there’s just no way to spin it and make it more interesting.  A few days after the conference one of my Facebook friends posted a link on her page under the heading “I’m a blogging fool!”  I clicked the link and checked out her blog.  My enthusiasm began to stir.  Not long after that (maybe even the same week), I was having a conversation about “signs from the Universe” and how we attract situations into our life.  The recipient of my ramblings responded by saying “why don’t you start a blog?”  And that was it…I said an enormous OK to the Universe and started taking steps to claim my space in the blogosphere.  My friend Heather put me in touch with her friend Matt who hosts a very popular blog about University of Tennessee sports.  He advised me on the best hosting site to use and gave me the down low on how to publicize and connect with other bloggers.  He also told me to pick a theme.

Since I had been emerged in Spirituality and the process of discovering my path and purpose, I decided pretty quickly the theme would be self-discovery.  Once I knew that the title just popped into my head.  My only concern was whether or not I could keep it going.  Matt had suggested that in the beginning it would be important for me to post everyday.  I wasn’t sure if I could do that, but decided to give it my best.

Now it has been a year and with the exception of one tragic week and with the help from a lot of readers and friends, I have published everyday.  Thank you so much for coming along on this journey that I hope continues for years to come!

I hope that you have learned at least a little from me, because I know I have learned A LOT from you!

Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!

5 thoughts on “Happy Blogoversary!!

  1. Winslow May 3, 2010 / 8:34 am

    Congratulations on your remarkable journey this year! Your self-discovery path has been a guide for many of us. Please keep your insightful posts, and your marvelous and moving testaments to the life-changing experiences of others, coming. Thank you to YOU!

  2. ray y May 3, 2010 / 1:28 pm

    Happy Blogoversary!!

  3. Darkwulfe May 3, 2010 / 7:04 pm

    Happy Blogoversary….many many more!

  4. Sharada Hall May 4, 2010 / 4:29 pm

    Congratulations! I’m just visiting for the first time today, but thought that since my first year anniversary is also coming up, I can really appreciate what it means.
    It is intense putting yourself out there and getting comfortable with the reality show that we’re basically sharing!
    Way to go!

  5. Dionne May 12, 2010 / 8:28 am

    I don’t get to read everyday, but I do enjoy your post everytime I do read them! Happy Belated Anniversary. Many more successful years.

Leave a Reply

