Jesus To Me

In honor of Good Friday and Easter weekend I’ve decided to finally write my thoughts on Jesus.  I didn’t go to church when I was very little and by the time we started going, I think Sunday school lessons were beyond the basic bible stories.  I’d also guess that I spent more time mentally rehearsing what I was going to say to Jay (the boy I had a massive crush on) after the service then I did listening to the lesson.  So up until I started going to Unity Eastside, what I knew of Jesus was the story of his birth, his death, and that you were supposed to ask him into your life in order to be “saved” or “born again.”  So in essence Jesus’ birth was a miracle and his tragic, inhumane death was for me and all the rest of us sinners to keep us out of hell.

When I started going to Unity Eastside, I was presented with a whole new idea of Jesus.  One of the first things I learned is that Jesus is a master teacher and way-shower.  He did not come to Earth in order to become THE WAY to God, but in order to show and teach us how to find God.  We were not meant to worship him, but to follow him.  The second idea I was presented with was the Christ Consciousness.  In Unity we are encouraged to embrace the idea that we are all children of God and contain within us the same divinity that was in Jesus.  Jesus reached God Realization to a degree that is arguably “higher” than anyone else (though I’m sure every religious person would say the same of their prophet), but we are all equally capable of that kind of enlightenment.  We all have the “Christ Spirit” within us and it is up to us to decide if we can put the little us’ aside and live from that place which Jesus lived.

Growing up I suppose Jesus was presented to me as God.  We prayed to him and in his name, but he was also the son of God.  It’s all so very confusing and of course very easily explained by the Christmas story.  Because it really makes all the sense in the world that two people who were very much in love and engaged got pregnant without ever having sex and were told by an angel that the baby was actually the son of God.  You see the angel part I believe completely.  I believe that I am God’s child (however you describe God, which to me is the energy and consciousness of the Universe) and so are my children and everybody else on this earth.  If I had gotten unexpectedly pregnant it would be awesome and not at all surprising if an angel interceded to make sure I understood the value of this life within me.  What I have an awfully hard time swallowing is the whole immaculate conception pregnancy without sex thing.  It sounds to me like revisionist history at it’s finest.  Just another way to make sex dirty, because of course the mother of Jesus had to be a clean and pure virgin.  So what I’m getting at (as blasphemous as it may sound to some) is that to me it only makes sense that Jesus was conceived and born just like the rest of us.  It doesn’t make him any less God’s son or any less of a mystic and master.  I think that any truth teaching you come across despite the religion it is based on will acknowledge the powerful life and message of Jesus.

Which brings me to my last point.  Why do we spend so much energy focused on his birth and especially his death, when the real value Jesus brought to humankind was the teachings he presented in life?  I’d say that Jesus has saved me, but he did not do that by dying on the cross.  I do not find comfort in his suffering and painful death.  He has saved me because I have discovered some of his most valuable lessons.  I have learned that the kingdom of God is within me.  I have learned that I do not need to go to a church to find God, but I can sit in silence and connect with Spirit there.  I have learned that I can have a real relationship with Jesus, because we are all spirits and souls and none of us ever die.  I can call on Jesus for guidance and if I am quiet and still I can feel or hear his answer.  I do not need Jesus’ forgiveness to keep me out of Hell, I need to forgive myself and my fellow man so that I am not living in the midst of it.  Finally and above all, I need to strive to live and move from a place of compassion and love for everyone.

*Before I ended meditation tonight I asked Jesus to help me write this.  I asked to be lead to the right scripture to go with this post (remember, I’m not a biblical scholar).  I was led to the following two passages.  The first I believe was a message just for me to address the fear I had in writing this.  The second was for the purpose of the post.

From Acts Ch. 18 9-10 “Be not afraid, but speak, and hold not thy peace:  For I am with thee, and no man shall set on thee to hurt thee:  For I have much people in this city.”

From Luke Ch. 17 20-21 “The kingdom of God cometh not with observation:  Neither shall they say, Lo here! or, lo there! for, behold, the kingdom of God is within you.”

Love and light to you this Easter weekend….

9 thoughts on “Jesus To Me

  1. Kim Jenkins April 2, 2010 / 8:31 am

    Simply wonderful. I was going to write a big reply (you know how wordy I am), but I’m not. I was raised in the church and a few years ago I just stopped going…not understanding my own beliefs anymore (childhood/someone else’s beliefs by the way) I’ve struggled with Jesus now for years, feeling like the odd man out for not getting it. This is so helpful…..SO helpful. It may have been difficult to write, but it touched me deeply and gave me much to think about. You’re pretty amazing Leslee.
    Kim

    • lesleehorner April 2, 2010 / 9:46 am

      Thank you, Kim!

  2. Renee April 2, 2010 / 8:56 am

    Leslee, I gotta correct you on something, and I think it might completely change your whole thinking on this:The Immaculate Conception does not refer to Christ’s conception. It refers to Mary’s conception.

    Christianity teaches that all humans are born with orginal sin, going back to when Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit. This is the explanation within Christianity for why we “suffer” in life. Childbirth is particularly awful because Eve ate first, and as daughters of Eve, we allmust bear her “punishment.”

    Mary was born without the stain of originalsin, which is why she was chosen to bear God’s son. This is a common misconcpetion, even among people who attended church from the day they were born, but it’s wrong.

    And, for further proof, the Feast of the Immaculate Conception is celebrated in the Catholic Church on December 6. Christ’s birthday is December 25. That would mean Mary was either pregnant for 19 days or almost 12 months.

    • lesleehorner April 2, 2010 / 9:23 am

      Very interesting..maybe I will have to edit that to say virgin birth or something. I grew up Baptist and know that there is so much in Catholicism that just didn’t transfer over or got distorted. Maybe this is one of them, or maybe I just didn’t research enough. Thanks for clarifying!

      • Renee April 2, 2010 / 9:26 am

        Most Catholics make the same mistake. I think it’s not well explained in churches or something. And I guess it sounds more like it would be referring to Christ’s conception because that’s a lotless complicated. 🙂

  3. Darkwulfe April 2, 2010 / 11:45 am

    Leslee…Excellent post. And I admire and respect the courage it takes to question and disagree with the popular and accepted thought on such delicate matters. Christians are as defensive about their Jesus as Muslims are about their Mohammed, and equally as vicious in their rhetoric. And to speak your mind during Holy Week takes that much more courage. Kudos to you. You pretty much know My stance on the subject as we have discussed, faith, god and religion at length, but what I find impressive is your willingness to search, your willingness to adapt and the fact that you are not intimidated by the possible consequences of speaking your mind. Great Post.

  4. Joy April 2, 2010 / 2:20 pm

    Leslee, I am in love with this post. You are so right on.

    I’ve been getting a lot of messages lately about the value of Jesus as a teacher. I was raised Catholic, and when I “quit” I was so traumatized that I bounced away from Christianity completely and flew directly into the arms of esoteric spirituality. I cringed at all things biblical – I still do, actually.

    I’m sure that happens a lot – because of how Christianity has been bastardized (pardon the pun) and used to control, rule, and invoke fear, people have come to disregard the religion entirely.

    I’m reading Marianne Williamson’s Return to Love right now, and she says that when we do this, we’re in essence throwing the baby out with the bathwater because there is actually so much power in Christ consciousness … it’s one story, one way of explaining a truth too big for any of us to truly understand.

    Anyway, thank you for removing yet another brick of the wall I’ve built between myself and Jesus’s teachings. It’s so ironic … he preached absolutely no “rules” but love. That’s kind of how I live. Or, try to. It’s not about religion at all. It never was. Certainly not to him.

    And I’m blown away by the scripture passages. You are such a wonderful conduit of universal wisdom, my friend. So very gifted. Thank you again for this. xoxo

  5. heather April 8, 2010 / 5:18 pm

    Leslee, if it was not immaculate conception, was Jesus the son of God? Just a ponder point re: the pregnant without sex part. I enjoyed the post.

    • lesleehorner April 8, 2010 / 6:37 pm

      Well here’s an interesting thought. When I first got my bible (thank you, btw), I started reading the first gospel. In that very first chapter they start by trying to prove that Jesus is a descendant of Abraham through the bloodline of Joseph. So they go through a line of “begets” proving that Jesus is the Messiah b/c he is related to Abraham. When I read that (seeing as I was already skeptical of the virgin birth), I was like wait a minute here, is he God’s son or Joseph’s? It is a very obvious contradiction in the bible and that’s just in the parts I’ve read or learned about..which isn’t that much of it.

      But like I said, I think we are all sons and daughters of God. I think we all have power to do amazing things. And with everything we know about science and history, if I am being honest with myself, it is just too darn hard for me to believe that a virgin got pregnant and gave birth. Also, as a friend pointed out to me the other day, Jesus’ birth story (and life story for that matter) is almost IDENTICAL to Hercules’.

Leave a Reply

