The Word God

I find these days that I have a very strange reaction when people write or talk about God.  When I stumble upon religious blogs and read about a God that is very “human,” I feel somewhat assaulted.  I was reading through some old comments on this blog yesterday and found one in which the person mentioned that we should let God be the judge.  That person had commented in my defense, yet reading the comment still urked me.  I was thinking about this recently and I had this “click.”  What if I don’t actually believe in God? WHOA!  I’ve been chatting back and forth with a blog friend who is an atheist.  We have A LOT in common.  So I’ve spent some time over the last couple of weeks with this question and of course the answers have come to me.

The first answer I received came to me by way of that assaulted feeling, only this time I was reading my atheist friend’s blog.  He is an excellent writer and so often when reading his stuff I find myself shaking my head in agreement.  But in one particular post he emphasized his belief that there is no God and I couldn’t stomach it.  My heart ached as much as it does when someone talks about that judging, vengeful God.  So maybe I do believe in God.  WHEW!

So if I do believe in God, but my God is not that father figure waiting to reward or punish me, who or what is God to me?  During the week that this question was in my head I was reading the book “The Field” by Lynne McTaggart. The book was a bit over my head at first, but as luck would have it I began to really understand it and find my answers in its pages.  Basically the book discusses the scientific research being done that proves our connectedness and the power of consciousness (which I would define as our perceptions, beliefs, and ideals about our lives and environment).  “The Field” is, as I understand it, an energetic plane which contains all the memories of the past and the future.  Within it are all the discoveries that ever have and ever will be.  And we all have a connection to it and can go within to find that connection.  This book provided me with my definition of God.  God is this “field” and it isn’t subject to time, it knows all that ever was and all that will ever be.  It is always present and all powerful (particularly if you tap into to it).

God is not a father, a mother, or a son.  God is just a word.  Which brings me to one more piece of my answer.   I read this post over at Owning Pink and really got a lot from the discussion in response to it.  Like Dana (in the article), I believe that God is neutral.  I don’t think there is a being judging us, but I also don’t think there is something smiling on us when we do something good.  When our intentions are in line with what is best for our lives, we feel it, we KNOW it.  It’s not a reward or a punishment, it’s simply going with or against the flow.

I’m not quite sure how or if I’ll continue to use the word God.  It seems that how I define God is very different from the way most others define the word.  To me, there are many words that could be used instead.  There is spirit, energy, the Universe, flow, power, love, higher self, or “the field.”  The important piece of information here is that we are all connected and there is something that holds us together.  If we can use God as an excuse to go to war and to discriminate, then it doesn’t seem logical to me that THAT is actually God.

10 thoughts on “The Word God

  1. Darkwulfe March 10, 2010 / 9:26 am

    I am glad you are finding the answers you seek on your journey!

    • lesleehorner March 10, 2010 / 1:21 pm

      I realize that this post is probably repeating and contradicting things I haven’t written before, but we are ever-changing. So, yes, this week I’ve found some answers but who knows if they will remain the answers. I don’t know that we ever get “there.”

  2. julian March 10, 2010 / 4:26 pm

    I was listening to Glenn Beck this morning for a little bit (I know… blech)

    Anyway, he was talking about an interview he did yesterday on TV and seemed so proud of himself that when he was drilling his guest with questions and asked him if he believed in God, the interviewee gave off body language that hinted that perhaps he didn’t.

    You know, Leslee, I reserve the word “hate” for very, very few things… like brussel sprouts. Um, root canals and hm… let’s see, oh! when people use the word “irregardless”. To that list I would add that I hate Glen Beck

    And like you, I will say with utmost certainty I don’t believe in or define God the way most people do, especially Glen Blech.

  3. Megan March 10, 2010 / 8:15 pm

    Hi Leslee,

    I was recently reading some info on Paganism and the authors said that Pagans generally believe in two concepts of God (using the word for convenience sake)… One is personal, the “face” of God that we connect to personally and emotionally. The other is Universal, the overall, True, yet indescribable and inconceivable One (like the field). One is truth, and one is just the way we connect to that truth. I was actually glad to read that description because it explained so much of my own experience!

    If it helps, I know exactly what you are talking about…

    Yours,
    Megan

    • lesleehorner March 10, 2010 / 9:28 pm

      That is a very interesting explanation…thank you for sharing!

  4. laurie alexander March 10, 2010 / 11:41 pm

    well, there gal.. Just got home a bit ago from a book group, we’re reading Ask Yourself This by Wendy Craig-Purcell. Questions that are ours personally to answer: What do I know for sure? How big is my God? How wide is my circle? Perhaps you need to give it a look-see and see if anything comes up for you.

    I know I got a hit tonight……
    Hugs to you,
    Laurie

    • lesleehorner March 11, 2010 / 8:00 am

      Hey Laurie! I’m reading it to and loving it. If you look at the post “Ask Yourself This (1),” you’ll find a comment from the author. It is definitely helpful to sit with questions and see what answers come up.

  5. Jack March 11, 2010 / 4:23 am

    It is kind of a personal thing. I always figured that if there is a supreme being that is omnipotent than there is no reason why we can’t have an individual relationship.

    • lesleehorner March 11, 2010 / 12:07 pm

      You are right it is (or should be) a very personal and individual relationship, which is why I should work on letting go of that “assaulted” feeling. What other people express as their beliefs, assuming they are presenting ideas and not forcing them, is not about me at all.

Leave a Reply

