Broken

I’m writing this post right after finishing “I’m a Pot,” so of course James’ comments are still fueling my inspiration here.  In the last comment he wrote, in reply to my friend Renee, he mentioned our brokenness.  He said that it is important to learn to live with the brokenness and know that we all participate in it.

So on one hand, I’d agree with that.  It is important for me to accept the people, ideas, and things I judge as wrong (or broken).  I can’t change other people.  I can plant seeds and share my own personal attempts at change and growth, but I can’t make the change happen in someone else.  Change is something that comes from within and eventually manifests outwardly.    As time passes even the things we call broken change.  United States History is a perfect example of that.  If no one had ever dreamed of the possibilities of change, many people would still be in shackles both literally and figuratively.  So if we just accept the brokenness without trying to fix it, or at least fix it in ourselves, aren’t we being complacent?

I do not claim to be perfect, but I am no longer afraid to pat myself on the back and encourage myself.  For the most part, I prefer this to be a positive place on the web.  What good does it serve for me to come and talk about how broken I am?  I like to work through that stuff on my own and tend to share the story once I’ve learned the lesson.  I believe we are all souls and our essence is good.  I believe growth and development is the goal.  We’re not supposed to be born perfect or be always perfect, but I also don’t think we’re supposed to wallow in being broken and spend energy searching our world for brokenness.  When we hit a wall, we ought to look for a way over it.  When we see something “bad”, we could ask ourselves if there is a way we could help.

Everyone views the world through their own set of glasses.  What is ugly to one person is beautiful to another.  There are countless stories of “broken” people doing amazing things.  We can’t please everyone, but we should be allowed to be comfortable and happy with ourselves.  Our kids will grow up and start their own lives, our spouses, parents, siblings, and friends may not always stick around, but we can never get away from ourselves.  With that in mind, what’s wrong with looking for the perfection in our lives, even in the brokenness?  What’s wrong with identifying the positive changes in ourselves and encouraging others to do the same?

2 thoughts on “Broken

  1. rageomatic March 8, 2010 / 4:21 pm

    Something which deeply disturbed me when I was still a “seeker” in the Church, was the fawning, nay worship of brokenness.

    Its a mistake, and here why: suffering for a great cause is great, but for the sake of the cause, not the suffering. There is nothing intrinsically beautiful or purposeful about suffering. Because so often greatness comes from suffering, people start to think that suffering is somehow good, that it magically moves us towards greatness. It doesn’t. It just hurts. Brokenness for the sake of brokenness is the methodology of a rapist. It is the rebuilding from the brokenness that makes us great, and if you have the patience and strength to build without being destroyed first, that is better. As was said in an otherwise lame movie (One of the Star Trek ones) in response to the question “How many centuries did it take for you to learn to stop time?” “It took centuries just to learn it didn’t take centuries.”

    Don’t accept brokenness for the sake of brokenness ever. You were made for greatness, and brokenness is only acceptable as stone on that path.

    • lesleehorner March 8, 2010 / 6:19 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting…hope you’re doing well! I’d say if all we ever heard or told each other was that we are miserable sinners (or whatever) we would probably achieve very little. Thank goodness for those who see the good in us and the times we see the good in ourselves.

Leave a Reply

