@Nuckingfutsmama’s Click

The following click story is from @NuckingFutsMama.  She is among those very witty and charismatic bloggers in my Twitter following list.  I am honored to have her here sharing a very moving story that I must say brought me to tears.  You can follow her on Twitter here and visit her blog here.

Getting pregnant for me was no easy task.  When so many of my friends were practically rolling over and getting knocked up, I was undergoing countless fertility procedures and sticking myself with needle after needle in order to start a family.  I suffered one heartache after another, but I never ever gave up.  I was determined to do anything and everything I could to make my mommy dream a reality.

When I finally became pregnant with my twins, I was extremely careful not to do anything to jeopardize the health of my babies.  I practically put myself in a bubble from the outside world and was able to keep those little beings inside me for over thirty-seven long weeks!  When I finally pushed them into the world, it was such a relief to hear that they were healthy and safe.  However, I wouldn’t actually get to see that for myself until much later that day.

You see, I had such extreme difficulty in delivering the placenta that I lost over half of my body’s blood supply.  I had to have two blood transfusions and didn’t get to hold my precious babies until almost six hours later.  When we were sent home two days later, we thought we’d finally put all our nightmares behind us.  We were finally ready to jump into parenthood.

However, I couldn’t have been more wrong, because when the babies were just over two weeks old, I came down with a really high fever, as well as flu-like symptoms.  When I called my doctor’s office, they told me that I most likely had a breast infection from nursing, but if the fever got higher, I was to go to the emergency room.  When I woke up the next morning, my temperature had shot up to 105 degrees, so we immediately rushed to the ER.  Luckily, my mom was in town to stay home with the twins.

I was immediately put under a bazillion different kinds of tests, and it was determined that I had retained placenta, requiring me to have a D&C.  I ended up hemorrhaging once again during the procedure and had to be hospitalized overnight.  My fever spiked again during the night as I drifted in and out of consciousness.  The next morning, my blood work came back saying that I had a blood infection and that gangrene had actually set into my uterus.  The doctors told me that I needed to have an emergency hysterectomy right away.

I couldn’t believe what my ears were hearing.  After all the struggles I’d been through to have these babies, they were actually gonna take away my ability to potentially have any more children?!  I told them no, that they couldn’t do that to me.  I could take a lot of pain, but this was just too much to bare.  Then they told me something that put it all into perspective for me — if I didn’t do this, I could die.

I thought of my sweet little girl and my sweet little boy at home, and it all just kind of clicked.  God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.  Yes, I’d been through hell and back, but I was finally a mommy, and that was all I’d ever wanted.  I never thought I’d even have one healthy child, and now I had two.  I agreed to the surgery because I wanted to be around for my hard-fought dream come true.  I had been blessed, I had a family, and my life was finally complete.

5 thoughts on “@Nuckingfutsmama’s Click

  1. MrsHotMom February 25, 2010 / 8:46 am

    What a beautiful story. You are such an inspiration to so many women. Keep writing and sharing.

  2. Toby Clark February 25, 2010 / 11:12 am

    Brings tears to my eyes, especially thinking about Amy. Beautiful.

  3. Heather February 25, 2010 / 6:13 pm

    What a brave woman! Your story touched me. I had retained placenta too – and it is an emergency. I feel so lucky not to have the complications you did. Your babies have a strong and loving momma who made many sacrifices to bring them to this world. Congrats on your sweet babies and take care.

  4. Pauline March 11, 2010 / 3:51 am

    Oh my. My first thought is to give you a huge hug. My second is “and I thought I had it bad?”
    You totally amaze me with your humor and your honesty. Your children are lucky to have you. And I’m glad to have found your (and this) blog).

Leave a Reply

