The Mountain

The Mountain (2-19-10)

Ahead is a mountain

full of mysteries

unknowns

I’ve walked the other way

even tried to go around

there is no way around

and going back

leaves me spinning

dizzy and breathless

I’ve dug my heels in the ground

refusing to keep

promises made

the mountain could

drain me

spit me out

I could

fall off a cliff

slide back down

over and over

I fear the mountain

making it to the other side

could change

Everything

even worse

could change

Nothing

not making it

equals failure

the ground beneath me

is shifting

my heels don’t fit in the sand

the way they have for so long

I’m looking around

and up

need the push

shove really

to get me onto the

Mountain….

6 thoughts on “The Mountain

  1. Jingle February 20, 2010 / 6:37 am

    sometimes u must figure out what exactly u want than move on…
    Happy Sailings!

  2. jackmcclane February 20, 2010 / 9:14 am

    I like it!

    I’m not a big poetry fan when it doesn’t rhyme (my inner school boy talking here) but I liked it.

    Well done.

    Jack

    • lesleehorner February 21, 2010 / 1:59 pm

      I’m incapable of writing rhyming poetry although I probably prefer reading poetry that rhymes as well…. Thanks for reading and liking!

  3. Kat (@kathym425) February 20, 2010 / 9:33 am

    We all have to face our mountain sooner or later. I’m approaching mine far too quickly and can only hope that I can face the challenge. Good luck with yours

    • lesleehorner February 21, 2010 / 1:58 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Kat and good luck to you as well!!

  4. Leigh February 20, 2010 / 10:35 am

    Consider yourself shoved. Whatever it is, just commit.

    My mother had me memorize this quote when I was barely old enough to talk. I’ve mouthed it to myself many times in my life and I’ve never regretted taking its advice: “Of all the words of tongue and pen, the saddest are these, what might have been.”

    The things that scare you the most carry the greatest reward. Courage!

Leave a Reply

