You Are Special

For Bella’s first Easter she was given a small board book version of Max Lucado’s You Are Special.  We’ve had the book now for nearly 6 years and every time I read it, it brings tears to my eyes.   The story is about the “Wemmicks” that are carved by “Eli the woodworker.”  The Wemmicks go through town giving each other stars and dots for all of the good and bad characteristics they display.  Punchinello is not a very good Wemmick and he gets lots of dots or rather he decides that he’s not a good Wemmick because of all the dots.  One day he meets a Wemmick named Lucia who has no dots or stars.  When either is given to her they just don’t stick.  Punchinello asks her how?  She tells him that everyday she goes to see Eli and he should do the same.  Punchinello decides to go and of course when he meets Eli he is reminded that the stars and dots only stick to him if he lets them.  Eli tells him that he is very special and loved by his maker and if he trusts in that, the dots and stars will fall away.

“Remember,” Eli said as Punchinello was leaving, “you are special because I made you.  And I don’t make mistakes.”

Punchinello didn’t stop, but in his heart he thought, I think he really means it.

And when he did, a dot fell to the ground.

Of course this story is a metaphor for God’s love for us.  I enjoy sharing it with my girls because it represents the loving and supportive God I believe in.  It also verifies the value of my daily meditation time.  When I sit in meditation all of those thoughts come bubbling up.  I might think about the stupid thing I said, or the fact that I left the house forgetting to brush my hair, or the argument I got into with Callee about her pants.  I may think about some brilliant idea I had last week, or the compliment someone gave me, or how lucky I am.  Those are my dots and my stars.  As I sit in the silence I see them and let them go.  When the dots and stars fall away I am communing with God.  In the silence and stillness, I can feel the life force moving through me.  I am aware of the energy that pulsates through me pumping my blood, allowing me to breathe, and digesting my food.  I realize I am watched over and loved just as every other human being is.  We are all special!

Leave a Reply

