Waiting Room

Waiting Room (2-4-10)

I sat across from you

in that room

protruding bellies

surrounding us

Tears streaming down your face

knees bouncing

a hand reaches for yours

he tries to understand

can’t quite

grasp

the loss

and emptiness

Your sadness reaches me

I feel the weight of it

hold back my own tears

fight the desire

to kneel before you

hold your hands

sob with you

wish I could

tell you

about the Angel I know

the one who will hold

your baby

since she didn’t get the chance

to hold her own…..

6 thoughts on “Waiting Room

  1. Winslow February 6, 2010 / 10:19 am

    Although my miscarriage occurred more than twenty years ago, I still find it hard to bear hearing about other peoples’. I think I never grieved enough, and therefore still have a heavy, confused heart about it. Your poem helped me to let go – and trust the Angel to hold him. It’s like experiencing a prayer of relief. Thank you for being there with us and holding our hands.

    • lesleehorner February 6, 2010 / 10:26 am

      I am so sorry for your loss those years ago. I wanted to share my poem with you as a writer and woman, but maybe something in me knew there was a bigger reason. I’m so glad it helped you and thank you so much for sharing…. Love to you, Winslow!

  2. Deborah Horton February 6, 2010 / 12:52 pm

    O my Leslee this is so breathtakingly poignant and beautiful.

  3. moderndaystoryteller February 6, 2010 / 4:51 pm

    Ah, it’s hard to say anything when I read a poem/post like this. If you were standing in front of me Leslee, I’d hug you and give you a look that would say it all. But for now, words are insufficient and cannot do justice to the power of yours. And Winslow, warm thoughts – Karen

  4. Leigh February 7, 2010 / 7:03 pm

    Leslee, you’ve expressed the nurturing spirit and universal empathy of women, and you’ve done it beautifully.

  5. Nancy February 10, 2010 / 10:09 am

    Les, that is beautiful – it brought tears to my eyes. Yes, she is holding all those babies in Heaven and she is an angel! ZLAM

Leave a Reply

