Heavenly Helpers

I read a lot of books that can only be described as “woo-woo.”  Some of my favorite authors are also psychics.  A recurring theme in these books, written by folks who let their intuition and sixth sense guide them, is their knowledge and work with heavenly helpers.  If you read a book like “Ask Your Guides” by Sonia Choquette you will find a list of spiritual helpers awaiting your requests.  There are angels and spirit guides.  Certain guides will help you find your lost keys or get you a good parking spot.  There are healing guides that will help you recover from sickness or emotional trauma.  There are angels and guides that are connected just to you and by your side at all times throughout your life.  The loved ones that have transitioned from this life to the next are also out there in spirit, shining light on us if needed. You can read a number of books and end up with a list about a mile long of all the entities available and willing to help you.

At various times in the past few years, I have worked to strengthen my intuition and tap into the heavenly resources.  I’m not really interested in talking to spirits or seeing the future.  My goal is to simply be connected and awake enough not to miss the signs that are there pointing me in the right direction.  If I can manage the little things more smoothly than the big things become attainable because I am actually aware enough to identify them.  I have found that if I’m around the house and looking for a lost object if I simply say aloud “Where is that ___?”, it will suddenly pop up.  When I first discovered this trick I would start the questions by first saying “Angels.”  One day we were looking for the remote and I asked the angels to help us find it.  Suddenly Callee stopped, laid on her stomach, reached under the chair, and pulled out the clicker.  I responded with a “Thank you, Angels.”  Bella quickly corrected me and said “Callee found the remote, not the Angels.”

Many times when I am meditating I feel that I am not alone.  I have often felt a presence beside me or in front of me.  If I ask a question while meditating the answer often arrives in my consciousness.  Once I even put in a request to meet an old friend in a dream, in order to make peace and ask for long overdue forgiveness.  Sure enough that night, I dreamed about the friend.  We expressed our love, exchanged a hug, and I woke up feeling lighter.

Unless you are a brand new reader to this blog, you know that one of my best friends, Amy, passed away in October.  Recently something concerning Amy was weighing on my mind.  I just kept asking her how she wanted me to feel.  For two days I felt her presence.  I can’t really describe it (other than the chills I got while talking with her mom on the phone) but I just knew she was with me.  I kept getting message after message that everything was OK and exactly as she would want it to be.  By the end of the two days this undeniable, unwavering peace had washed over me.  I knew and know that everything is just as it should be.

One thing I have learned over the last few years is that we are all capable of fine tuning our intuition and realizing our own “psychic” abilities.  We all have them, we just don’t all choose to use them.  For me, I’m still probably more of a skeptic than I am a psychic.  I don’t believe everything that I read by some of my favorite authors.  At times the ego gets crossed with those heavenly messages and you have to stop and ponder a bit.  My favorite spiritual teacher, Joel S. Goldsmith doesn’t even encourage a focus on psychic abilities.  He believes that it all comes from God anyway, so if you contemplate and meditate on God you will receive everything you need for this journey.  But he also recognizes that you can commune with any spiritual teacher you’d like whether living or dead.

Below I will list some of my favorite authors.  If anyone is reading this and interested in learning more about Angels and Spirit Guides, I would recommend them.

Sonia Choquette

Sylvia Browne

Doreen Virtue PhD

John Edward

Allison DuBois

James Van Praagh

10 thoughts on “Heavenly Helpers

  1. Kim Wencl February 1, 2010 / 10:24 am

    A few years ago I attended a Doreen Virtue seminar, and although she was a very nice person and I enjoyed the experience, I just couldn’t buy into her theory that you needed to ask for assistance from so many different angels. (dependent upon what your particular needs were).

    My exerience has been that you can never go wrong with God. He knows what we need long before we even ask. He will send whatever help he sees fit. I trust his judgment and he has always been there for me.

    Why would I choose to by-pass God and use my own judgment to decide upon which assistant I should contact? For me, it’s a no brainer.

    • lesleehorner February 1, 2010 / 10:33 am

      You sound like you are in line with JSG’s thinking. And it is really true. I was trying to read a book about connecting with angels and there were so many different angels and specific ways to contact them that I had to put the book down. I thought really all I need to do is get quiet and focus on God. It really doesn’t need to be that complicated. Of course this particular book was geared toward people who were totally new to this and maybe the authors thought they needed a more specific method in order to quiet their minds….

  2. mypsychicmediumfamily February 1, 2010 / 11:59 am

    I love this post. You must be very in-tune with your angels and guides because you hit the mark completly. I love what you said “At times the ego gets crossed with those heavenly messages and you have to stop and ponder a bit.” SO TRUE. I am a medium, which means I help relay messages from the other side and help ghosts cross over. But that’s all that it is, a message, a translation of a different language if you will. It astounds me how some mediums and psychics take what they hear or see and turn it into something of their own. Or that their interpertation is the only way. Seriously, it’s not about you it’s about the message.

    Anyway, I too believe anyone can tune-in to their 6th sense. I see you’ve read a lot of books, so maybe you’ve already read this. I started talking to my angels with a book called “Angels Speak” there are 3 of them. It really helped me and I think it’s pretty simple and basic.

    • lesleehorner February 1, 2010 / 12:40 pm

      Thank you so much for this comment! I have not read “Angels Speak” but will definitely check it out!!

  3. ray February 1, 2010 / 1:01 pm

    You just knew I’d respond to this, didn’t you?

    • lesleehorner February 1, 2010 / 1:28 pm

      What’s your response? Your skeptical right?

  4. ray February 1, 2010 / 1:53 pm

    My response was meant as a joke. My reaction to a charletan’s claim to see into the future is to hit him in the back of the head and say “Did you see that coming?” I do believe that there are “angels” or “spirits”, for lack of a universally accepted term, that enter into our lives to enlighten us when called upon or in our time of need. I mentioned this to you in my post on your blog months ago. These celestial interventions take many forms. To some as angels, spirits, seers. To others, a feeling, or a sense. Others may hear guidance. But rest assured, I do believe they exist. To the extent of their manifestation to us, that is dependent on our readiness to see, feel, or hear. And I truly believe they can only signal what is for our highest good.

    • lesleehorner February 1, 2010 / 2:39 pm

      See that proves I’m not trying to be psychic, since I completely missed the joke. Very good comment that I forced out of you here!

  5. StoneTosser February 1, 2010 / 10:54 pm

    Leslee
    I’ve had these experiences too. And I agree with Amy and Ray that what they are is less important than that they help us. My feeling is that whether they are “true” in the way we imagine them to be, they ARE true in the effect they have in our lives. That sense of peace after sitting with Amy for two days was real. What a wonderful thing. Thanks for posting this.
    Love, Light and Blessings
    ~Dana

Leave a Reply

