Michael A. Singer

Today I pulled the book “The Untethered Soul” by Michael A. Singer off my shelf and began flipping through.  I usually underline or highlight in books I’ve read.  I flipped through the whole book and found one page with an underline on it.  Here is the whole paragraph, I’ll underline the part that was underlined in my copy.

“Your cage is just like this.  When you approach the edges you feel insecurity, jealousy, fear, or self-consciousness.  You pull back, and if you are like most people, you stop trying.  Spirituality begins when you decide that you’ll never stop trying.  Spirituality is the commitment to go beyond, no matter what it takes. It’s an infinite journey based upon going beyond yourself every minute of every day for the rest of your life.  If you’re truly going beyond, you are always at your limits.  You’re never back in the comfort zone.   A spiritual being feels as thought they are always against that edge, and they are constantly being pushed through it.”

2 thoughts on “Michael A. Singer

  1. ray January 31, 2010 / 3:38 pm

    I know Michael A. Singer as the author of the Medical Manager, a software program I marketed for years. I knew him as Mickey. He had a retreat in Alachua Fl. and was quite influential in my spiritual awakening. We’ll talk someday about it.

    • lesleehorner January 31, 2010 / 4:11 pm

      I discovered the book at Amrit Yoga Institute, so I figured he was a local or semi-local guy. Will be interested to hear about him from you!

Leave a Reply

