Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

I watched this movie on Tuesday night. It’s one of my favorites. Here are a few of my favorite quotes.

Clementine: Too many guys think I’m a concept, or I complete them, or I’m gonna make them alive. But I’m just a fucked-up girl who’s lookin’ for my own peace of mind; don’t assign me yours.
Joel: I remember that speech really well.
Clementine: I had you pegged, didn’t I?
Joel: You had the whole human race pegged.
Clementine: Hmm. Probably.

Joel: I could die right now, Clem. I’m just… happy. I’ve never felt that before. I’m just exactly where I want to be.

Joel: I had a really nice time last night.
Clementine: Nice?
Joel: I had the best fucking night of my entire fucking life, last night!
Clementine: Thaaaat’s better!

Mary: Adults are, like, this mess of sadness and phobias.

Howard: Simultaneous speech “We’ll dispose of these mementos when we’re done here, that way you wont be confused by their unexplainable presence in your home

7 thoughts on “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

  1. Stacia January 17, 2010 / 9:56 pm

    I just love that movie, over and over! It’s such an honest look at relationships and our connections… and disconnects and reconnects. It’s funny how 2 people who were in the same relationship can look back and remember themselves differently. I won’t name names, but while talking with someone from my past he said that he was “Joel” and I was “Clementine”… and I thought of us as the exact opposite.

  2. julian January 19, 2010 / 1:04 pm

    This movie came out about a year after my wife left. Before it came out (about six months) I met a hypnotherapist by chance at work and got her card. I daydreamed about having her hypnotize me to erase or remove the memory of my ex-wife and wondered if there was ever a way it could really be done.

    When I saw this movie I watched it alone and don’t know if I’ve ever been so sad watching a movie.

  3. Stacia January 19, 2010 / 1:27 pm

    Julian, the first time I watched this was in the theatre, and I cried my eyes out! My situation was a little different… I was watching the movie with my then husband. I wasn’t in love with him. I was thinking about an ex while watching the movie and was so sad that I would never know what it is like to fall for someone and be in love again… I had missed out! Gave up too soon, got married too early, and I related to the movie so much.

    I had many times wanted my memory erased, because it would be easier… to accept I didn’t have that passion for my husband… because if I couldn’t remember what it was like to experience those feelings, I would be more content. In the end, that movie made me be able to focus on the happy memories from my past. The second time I watched it, I wasn’t as sad… I actually laughed and found more of the humor in some of it. It made me really think about why we are with the people we are with and the connections that we have had and are possible.

    I have since divorced. I had resolved to be happy being alone, being single, and just having friends. BUT, I was lucky enough to fall in love again, the passionate kind I would never want to forget! We have to change our outlook though, for it to be possible. Let me clarify, I didn’t divorce my husband because of these feelings. It had more to do with his constant lying and violent temper.

    In the end, that movie was a little piece that made me realize I wanted to have a connection and be drawn to someone so much that even if our memories were erased, we would end up together again anyway. Funny enough, my current boyfriend was briefly in my life 10 years ago… and then we bumped into one another again when I was single. Funny how things happen. I do understand how the movie was so sad for you though. I hope it wouldn’t be as sad for you today =)

    • lesleehorner January 19, 2010 / 1:31 pm

      Stacia-I never replied to your first comment but after reading this one I can guess the “Clementine” you were talking about and he was def. “Clementine” not “Joel.”

      Julian-Once again we are on the same wavelength. I was wondering about you today. Hope all is well and thanks for the comment.

      • julian January 19, 2010 / 2:10 pm

        : ) twinkle, twinkle, twinkle, twinkle.

    • julian January 19, 2010 / 2:16 pm

      thanks Stacia…

      It is odd how people come in and out of lives isn’t it. I recently came in contact with an ex who has been someone that ebbs and flows in and out of my life. After we broke up (decades ago) we settled into friendship that was really nice but for whatever reason we would lose touch. It’s been nice to reconnect with her.

      Well, maybe I’ll pull it up on Netflix. I’ve been curious for years about watching it again.

  4. Stacia January 19, 2010 / 1:40 pm

    Haha! I went to see the movie just after I had been in touch with him through e-mail after all of those years. In my next message to him, I wrote that he had to watch that movie. Sure enough, it made him think about our past relationship. But I couldn’t believe it when he said, “I was Joel” – what?!?

Leave a Reply

