Christmas Wish

I’m writing this on the 23rd and of course it is posting on Christmas Eve. Between the cold I’m suffering from and the stress of preparing for Christmas day and a trip to NC, I’m low on insightful reflections. I thought I’d just take a paragraph or two to tell you what’s on my Christmas list.

I’ll start with the simple stuff. These are the items I’ve shared with Mark and may or may not be receiving on Christmas day. I want an Ipod dock/charger/player. I love my Ipod but get so annoyed when I have to charge it on the computer. It takes a few hours and I have to constantly check to make sure the computer hasn’t “gone to sleep” thus halting the charge. I’ve gotten to where I just forget to do this and then when I’m all psyched up and ready to go to the gym, I realize I have no music. Having no music to listen to while exercising has become excuse number 1 not to work out at all. It’s a vicious cycle that I feel confident will end once I have an easier place to charge the Ipod.

The other item on my list is a bible (King James version with Jesus’ words in red). For as much as I write about spiritual stuff I am embarrassed to admit I don’t have a bible in the house. I’ve had my mother searching her house for the bible I had as a teen and she hasn’t had any luck finding it. I’ve said before that I read a lot of books by people who quote and talk about the bible, but now it is time for me to practice what I preach and read and study it for myself.

Now for the more complicated wish list. These requests truly require a miracle Santa to make happen. What I’d absolutely love is to have more time and money to take a few trips this year on my own. The first is a cruise or Caribbean vacation with my two best friends, Heather and Kristin. The second is the Goddess Retreat at Amrit Yoga Institute. The third is the BlogHer conference in New York City with my Twitter friends @2MuchPerfection, @OpinionatedGift, and @Kitterztoo. I’m pretty sure the first of these will happen. It will be a small miracle if I am able to participate in two of them and an extraordinary feat if I’m able to do all three.

Now what about you guys?Ā  Care to share your Christmas wish list….

12 thoughts on “Christmas Wish

  1. Renee December 24, 2009 / 8:03 am

    I had to go buy a Bible when I read The Red Tent. I took the Bible as literature in college, but it’s hard to remember everything for years and I needed to reference it!

    One of these days, though, I’m going to sit down and just read it all the way through.

    It’s on “the list.”

    • lesleehorner December 24, 2009 / 9:40 am

      Yeah, the last time that I tried to read the bible most of it was way over my head…if I’d read it three years ago it might have still been over my head. I think now I’m ready for it. I have more background and am better at concentrating these days.

      There is this episode of Arthur where one of the kids reads a Harry Potter type book the fastest of anyone in the group. So her friends all start asking her questions about the plot and she can’t answer any of them because she read it w/o “getting it.” Hopefully I won’t be like that with the bible now. šŸ™‚

  2. heather December 24, 2009 / 10:12 am

    I smiled when I read your list. I gave my mother in law one request for Christmas – a bible. I do not have one either! I have looked and not been able to find the one from when I was a teen. Looking forward to seeing you the 28th -love H

  3. gratefulkim December 24, 2009 / 10:17 am

    I love your list Leslee, altho the King James Version of the bible would make me nutso. I have the NLV version, complete with footnotes at the bottom of each page. It reeeeallly helps me ATTEMPT to understand what is being written/said. Still often hard for me to swallow, but I read it anyway when inspired to do so.

    I get the ipod thing too. If Santa doesn’t bring you what you want, consider an electric charger and keep it next to your computer. That way you can plug it in anytime and rest assured the darn thing is charging. šŸ™‚

    I love to play games…..mind games, board games, singing games…whatever. And so I thought of a favorite game of mine and I’m sending you the link to sign up and play if the idea is interesting to you. Sometimes manifesting money is simply a shift in mindset, as we know. Not 100% mind you…I get that we do have some limitations based on our jobs, income, etc. But…I also believe miracles can and do occur, so why not play the game? Anyway, a new game (FREE!) commences on Jan. 18th. Why not sign up and play along? It’s fun just to imagine and dream….who knows what can become of it? http://www.millionairemoneygame.com/

    No one ever asks me what I want for Christmas. They just buy things they think I want and I smile when I receive. I found out I’m getting a snuggie….Thanks to @whyisdaddycryin I can’t even say the word snuggie without cringing. Ha ha….but what I’d really love is the new Price is Right game and Biggest Loser for the Wii, a new pair of headphones, movie gift cards, and some super potent smelling candles. šŸ™‚ Thanks for asking.

    Merry Christmas Leslee. Thank you for blessing me with your writing and thoughts. Looking forward to 2010 and mutual exchanges of fun. šŸ™‚

    Kim

  4. Kasey December 24, 2009 / 10:39 am

    I love the KJV of the Bible!! It can be a bit difficult for me to understand in some parts…but I love it just the same. The one I read mostly is the New American Standard (words of Jesus in red)…very good translation.

    Love you Leslee and love reading your blog! You truly are an inspiration.
    I am so thankful that we have reconnected this year.

    Merry Christmas, dear friend! Love,k

    p.s. hope all your Christmas wishes come true…and that it’s nothing short of extraordinary! šŸ™‚

  5. lesleehorner December 24, 2009 / 11:21 am

    Heather-So funny that you’ve asked for the same thing! Apparently the phrase “great minds think alike” is true! šŸ™‚ I love you and can’t wait to see you Monday too!

    Kim and Kasey- Thank you so much for the comments on my blog being a blessing and inspiration to you! You guys both inspire me as well! Hope you get everything on your wish lists!

  6. john cave osborne December 24, 2009 / 11:33 am

    leslee,

    read the four gospels first.

    may be late in the game, but as far as the ipod charger, get something from DLO: check this out:

    http://www.dlo.com/products/view/HD_musicremote

    i’ve got one and i LOVE it. only cost $150 or something like that. you plug it into your receiver, put your ipod in it, take out the black remote and the black remote becomes your ipod. it syncs up with your actual ipod and works on radio remote, so you can be in another room and control the stereo. we’ve got a deal w/ different zones in our house and one of them is outside. i can literally be out there and control the stereo/ipod. it’s incredible. PLUS, your ipod is always charging.

    as far as my list? there’s nothing on it. i need some clothes, so maybe a sweater or two would be great, but, truly, there’s nothing on my list. nothing material, that is.

    what i do want? tomorrow, i wanna be as plugged in as it gets. i want to soak up every single last second and convert what i see to memories that will stay with me for a lifetime. i’m madly in love with my wife. i want her to feel how much i love her tomorrow. i want the trips to feel every single ounce of my love for them. i want pookie to know that as far as i’m concerned, she’s my real daughter, not my stepdaughter. i want all six of us to be as one. i don’t want anything to interrupt or compromise what we feel. no phones. no computers. no tweets. no posts. virtual is great, but real is better. real is special. real is love.

    and that’s what i want a real, special Christmas that’s filled with love.

    Merry Christmas!

    • lesleehorner December 24, 2009 / 3:00 pm

      John,

      Thank you so much for this beautiful comment! You are so precious and I must say you are quickly becoming one of my spiritual teachers. Your “virtual” presence in my life is such a gift and I look forward to more spiritual sparring with you!

  7. Laurie (@GoodByeGracie) December 24, 2009 / 2:14 pm

    I hope your wish list is fulfilled! BlogHer is on my list, too, but it is unlikely I’ll get there in ’10.

    Have a very Merry Christmas

    • lesleehorner December 24, 2009 / 3:21 pm

      Thank you Laurie! It would be so awesome if we all could make it to BlogHer…

  8. Stacia December 25, 2009 / 7:58 pm

    That is what I asked for, an iPod dock/charger/player. I got it last night from Brian’s mom, yay! I also wanted a particular camera that I did not think I would get. My current camera takes such awful pics in low light and I have to photoshop a ton to make people look halfway normal. The one I wanted was sold out everywhere but my sweetie ordered me one. That’s pretty much all I wanted. I got a few more things, like gift cards and stuff.

    I already have 3 bibles. I grew up on the KJV and still have the one my grandma gave me with my full name embossed on the front… although I think something spilled on it several years ago, so it’s not in perfect condition. I also have the one my first minister gave me when I was a baby and I have a NAS. I can’t believe I’m the one with all the bibles… you always read your bible every night before you went to sleep when we had sleepovers in the junior high years. We would listen to Bobby Brown, talk about boys, and eat junk food, and then you would read your bible ;o)

    Very nice to read John’s comments… a man who loves and respects his family that much. Absolutely wonderful =) I hope everyone had a great Christmas!

    • lesleehorner December 25, 2009 / 8:56 pm

      Thanks for reminding me of that Stacia! I remember talking to Stephanie about it all and I remember having my bible with me at your house on a few of those sleepovers. You know it was that kid Geoff in junior high that was my first real teacher of religion! I was really hoping my mom could find my old bible b/c I know I highlighted it and would be interested to see what passages “spoke to me” when I was 13-14. And I didn’t get a bible for Christmas today, but did get the Ipod dock. I’ll have to go shop for one in the next week or so…

Leave a Reply

