The Human Filter

I’m reading a book right now that is a channeled book.  The first time I read a channeled book I was embarrassed to admit how much I loved the book without giving a disclaimer.  I can’t even remember what I would tell people before expressing my admiration for the material and it’s authors, but basically I wanted to let people know that I wasn’t crazy nor was the information in the book.

My new thought is that a lot of what you read that is of a spiritual nature (or not) is channeled.  Most authors will express that they received an idea and just began to write it.  Stephenie Meyer got the idea for Twilight in a dream.  The next day she sat down and began the saga.  There is no denying that her work has been a life-changer for many.  Because of the way the series has been received, I’d be willing to bet there is some truth and spiritual insight in it (I’ve only read the first book, so I don’t really know).  *Note: A friend who previewed this post has assured me there is no spiritual insight to be found in The Twilight Series.

There are a lot of books out that offer advice on how to live a better life and how to have a closer relationship to God.  Every person who writes does it because at some point they are inspired.  The very first definition in the dictionary for inspiration contains the phrase divine influence.  So when you sit down to write in response to a divine influence you are working as a channel for a message that is meant to be presented, which brings me to the title of the post.  Every piece of writing is created by a human.  Thus everything written goes through their personal human filter.

I have read the books “Conversations With God” by Neale Donald Walsh.  Portions of those books struck me as truth and felt very much like a pure message from a higher power.  But other portions of the book felt like a man trying to speak for God.  I could not swallow every piece of his message.  The same thing happened when I read the book “Mere Christianity.”

Every religion has it’s own religious texts, but all of those texts were written by human beings.  There is holiness abound within their pages, but they have also been through the filter.

I have said this before in various ways, but we all have an internal compass, a divine directive if you will.  We know in our beings when we are presented with truth and when we are assaulted with fallacies.  When something is untrue or misinterpreted we feel it.  Some people refer to this ability as a “bullshit detector.”  The key to utilizing this is to actually read, study, listen, and let the information in.  I think all too often in our society people simply accept what they are told, without letting it really sink it, and without questioning further.  We learn this at an early age when we are going through the “why” phase.  Eventually the answer “because I said so” is presented to us enough that we decide that it is enough.

It is not in our best interests to judge (good or bad) information if we have not first sat with it, taken it into our being, and deciphered it’s meaning from within.  Many people hold up bodies of information as truth or lies without first going through and weeding out the divine author from the human one.  Many people hold up bodies of information as truth or lies without every actually reading or studying them at all.

I know from experience that the human meaning you apply to divine guidance is not always right.  A while back I wrote a post titled Pain.  I had asked God during meditation what would be my next lesson.  The answer I received was “pain.”  If you reread the post you will see I put that guidance through the filter and applied it to physical pain.  I really had no idea in the moment that the message was a sort of “warning” of the coming unfathomable pain of losing one of my best friends.

I try every day, with everything I am presented with to use spiritual discernment.  I have been accused of blindly accepting what I read in books.  The reality is, I read a lot of books, I take the grains of wisdom and truth I find and apply them in my life, the rest I discard.  It is of the utmost importance to me not to confuse the message with the messenger….

Leave a Reply

