“Pro-Life”

The first thing I must say here is that this post is NOT about abortion, but rather terminology.  Lately I’ve become really annoyed at this particular term.  In a quiet moment this idea popped into my head.  What if I was an alien visiting from another planet and I decided to ride along with an average American family that happens to have “Pro-Life” stickers on their car?  Generalizing quite a bit, I am going to give you an illustration.

Let’s imagine this invisible alien is visiting from a very loving and highly evolved planet.  He is very excited to see this earthly family’s way of honoring and supporting life.  I mean it says right on their vehicle: “PRO-LIFE.”  He joins them at the dinner table where the parents eat steak (cow) and the kids eat nuggets (chicken).  After dinner the mother screams from the bathroom.  The alien follows the father into the bathroom where they discover a spider.  BAM…spider=dead!  They sit down to watch the evening news.  A man will be executed tomorrow.  The parents applaud, justice prevails, time to watch CSI.  The following morning the alien joins father and son on a hunting expedition where they shoot and kill deer for fun.  Afterward they celebrate with a meal at McDonald’s where they eat more cow and chicken.  At the end of the 24 hour period the alien leaves earth believing “Pro-Life” has a totally opposite meaning of what he thought it did.

Today I saw a bumper sticker that said “Abortion stops a beating heart.” Yes, yes, yes it does but so does the following:

slaughter houses

lethal injection

food shortages

hunters with guns

war

abuse and neglect

pollution in our water

deforestation

disease

I just don’t understand the use of that terminology for one issue having to do with life.  Couldn’t we use something else, like say pro-pregnancy, pro-babies, pro-motherhood, or how about anti-abortion.  The truth is I don’t know if it’s possible for any of us to be entirely “PRO-LIFE.”  There are too many things we have to do in order to survive.  But I would love it if we could look at life in the big picture and embrace and honor all of it.

*As always, I WELCOME your comments, but if it seems to be taking a turn into an abortion debate I will delete.

6 thoughts on ““Pro-Life”

  1. OpinionatedGift December 7, 2009 / 10:36 am

    Thank you, Leslee.

    It’s the sneaky inconsistency of most RTLers that annoys me. They are, of course, entitled to their convictions. It’s the blind, righteous hypocrisy that gets on my nerves. And I’m an avid and joyful meat eater.

    I do have a friend who is indeed, for the most part, consistent. He is pro life, and anti death penalty. He also supports any and all legislation that seeks to reduce or eliminate the need for abortions in the first place. He’s not self righteous and recognizes the grays in life.

    They’re out there. I know you know this. I lurve this entry.

  2. avionicsman December 7, 2009 / 10:50 am

    I like your perspective! I am pro-choice! I choose to eat meat, kill spiders, would be happy to throw the switch on some criminals and firmly beleive that it is a womans choice. I do find it odd to see a tree hugger jump into their crappy old gas guzzling VW van with a bumper sticker that says ” I saved a tree Today”….really!! great post

  3. cjaxon December 7, 2009 / 11:06 am

    death is not always senseless

  4. Megan Monique December 7, 2009 / 1:48 pm

    This is an interesting post and point well-made all though I must admit it is rather difficult to think of a comment that won’t particularly target abortion. Perhaps ‘they’ chose the term ‘Pro-Life’ because sometimes, most times the only life form most humans consider is our own.

    ::shrugs::

    Love You,
    @MeganMonique

  5. kitterztoo December 7, 2009 / 3:44 pm

    I think the term is so synonymous with the abortion issue, that it would be too difficult to substitute another in its place. There are many slogans when taken literally seem hypocritical. I don’t see it changing either. What a shame…

  6. Stacia December 13, 2009 / 5:57 pm

    As far as terminology goes, “anti-abortion” would be the most fitting and literal label IMO. I think Megan Monique hit the nail on the head in her comment. In fact, to back that up, I mentioned this post to my sister (who is anti-abortion) and before I really completed my comment, she said, “Well, animals are not the same as people!” I am Pro-Life because I value life and think that life is basically a good thing (=D), but I am also Pro-Choice if the topic happens to be abortion… and I am also pro-pregnancy, pro-motherhood and pro-babies. So there you go!
    Great post and I’m glad you decided to write it. It gets people thinking about something they may not have otherwise thought about. ;o)

Leave a Reply

