Namaste

namaste_01

The common definition I have been given for the greeting “Namaste” is “the light in me greets the light in you.”  That “light” is the spark of divinity within all of us.  It is also called our Christ Consciousness.  I’d say it was a huge moment in my life receiving this information.  I am not just this human body and mind, but within me lies a light and that light is God.  My view of life has not been the same since.

I am grateful to have found an amazing church that is supportive and encouraging of the search for truth.  I go to church not to gather with friends (although they are an amazing group of people) or out of duty or obligation, but for spiritual food.  Some Sundays I stay home because my nourishment that day is meant to come from loving time with my family, time in nature, or reading spiritual literature.  But most Sunday’s I feel a pull to go.  It never fails that when I respond to that pull and show up, I receive “my message.”

Today I received a few messages, but the most important one came in a song.  From time to time our music director will have us sing the song “The Face of God.”  This particular song, I believe, expresses the same sentiment as the greeting “Namaste.”  The lyrics are as follows:

You are the face of God.

I hold you in my heart.

You are a part of me.

You are the face of God.

Usually after 2 verses of the song, we are asked to turn toward someone next to us, look into their eyes, and sing the song to them.  I will admit that often this is an uncomfortable feeling.  I think it has a lot to do with the quote I posted yesterday.  It is hard for us to accept our own divinity.  Many of us have had lifetimes of being told we are miserable sinners.  We also have a difficult time truly connecting with other people on a soul level.  So to look in the eyes of someone you either don’t know or don’t know well and acknowledge their spark is quite the challenge.  Today when the song started, I felt a bit nervous.  Who would I sing to and how would it feel?namaste welcome

When it came time to find a neighbor, the friend sitting next to me had stepped out.  I turned around and saw a visitor, who was there with her daughter.  The woman was probably in her 80’s.  I reached for her hand and looked into her eyes as I sang the song.  She had beautiful blue eyes and I watched as they welled up with tears.  By the end of the verse the tears were streaming down her cheeks.  Her daughter looked at her and began to cry as well, then I also began to choke up.  It was a beautiful moment.  We had gone past the superficial level and experienced the true meaning of “Namaste.”

I put this video up so you could listen to the song if you want to.  Hearing it gives a little more meaning to the post.  It seems the video must have been put together in the aftermath of Katrina as it contains a lot of those images.

10 thoughts on “Namaste

  1. john cave osborne November 16, 2009 / 5:15 pm

    this post is GREAT. faith is a huge cornerstone in my family’s life. we were absent from our church for nearly two years, and though there’s no excuse, we were in the throws of adjusting to life with triplets. (they turned two in sept) recently we returned to church and we are so glad to be back, i can’t even tell you. when I read the part about the 80-year-old woman you were singing to, my heart melted. i thought your point about us being uncomfortable with the divinity within us was an excellent one. i have a dear friend who is going through a divorce right now, and he’s taken the opportunity to change a number of things in his life, the most significant one being his relationship with the Lord. he’s chosen to make it even better. my wife and i have been huge supporters in his efforts. to thank us, he gave us a daily devotional book. i’m not even sure where my reply is going, and i’ll end it now since it’s become a rambling, stream-of-consciousness diatribe, but i guess that’s a testimony to what you wrote. too few people stand up and profess their Christianity for fear that they’ll offend someone, and those that do? they are to be lauded, though, quite frankly, very few of them could do it as eloquently as you just did.

    great post!!! jco

    • lesleehorner November 16, 2009 / 5:37 pm

      Thank you for this thoughtful comment! And sounds like your friend is making the best of a tough situation and finding a spiritual solution. At my best friend’s funeral a couple of weeks ago, the minister said something to the effect of “God doesn’t make bad things happen, God gets us through them when they do.” There is also a great book by Wayne Dyer called “There’s a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem” that I enjoyed reading tremendously!

  2. jane aka faerian November 16, 2009 / 8:48 pm

    namaste to you and your tender seeking loving heart Leslee

  3. Stacia November 17, 2009 / 3:59 pm

    Beautiful L! We need more people like you in the world my sweets!

    • lesleehorner November 17, 2009 / 4:26 pm

      Thank you, Stacia!

  4. julian November 17, 2009 / 4:22 pm

    I’ve missed you Leslie. I haven’t stopped by your place here in a while and you’ve written quite a bit since then. I hope to have my click story to you soon. Nope I haven’t forgotten I’d write one. muah!

    Namasté my new friend.

    • lesleehorner November 17, 2009 / 4:25 pm

      I’ve missed you too, but know you’ve been busy with NaNo among other things. Hope you are getting it all done and feeling joy with it all! I’ve tweeted a bit with LB and we decided you need to get on Twitter. (As if you need another time-sucker!) Thanks for stopping by and anytime with the click story. I’ve actually gotten an incredible response and am scheduled through Jan 7 (2 click stories a week).

      • julian November 17, 2009 / 6:36 pm

        : ) you know what!…. i have a Twitter account. I’ve posted exactly two tweets. Maybe I’ll fall into the fray of twitter. just ‘followed’ you.

        oh no… i feel a time sucker on the horizon. Just got my txt message allowing me to tweet from my cell phone! Aghh!!!

  5. jane aka faerian November 17, 2009 / 7:17 pm

    i just wanted to thankyou Leslee… i went and sang that song to my friend whose son died 7 years ago today…i held her hands and sang that to her… it was a blessing for us both!

    • lesleehorner November 17, 2009 / 7:23 pm

      Oh, Jane, I’m so glad you shared this with me and that you did it. I have tears welling up reading this comment of yours! It is a powerful song!

Leave a Reply

