Psalm 23

I have been studying the teachings of Joel S. Goldsmith for about a year now.  I was very immersed in his work for a while.  One thing that he says is that you should work with “flashcards” and these “flashcards” will be given to you by God.  A flashcard is a phrase (usually from scripture) that you keep in the forefront of your mind throughout your days.  Eventually as you remind yourself of the message it will find its way into your being and then you will be given another phrase to work with.  I have to admit I was skeptical of this and didn’t believe that God would give me a flashcard, but during a moment of meditation I received a nice surprise.  As I sat in my spot in silence, from within I heard “The Lord is my shepherd.  I shall not want.”  There it was, MY first flashcard.  I thought of it often, but eventually lost the discipline to acquire the knowledge at the level intended.  Since Amy passed away, I am being reminded of that phrase.  It seems Psalm 23 is being sent to me in lots of ways, including being printed on the “In Remembrance” for Amy’s viewing.

I want to share it here…

The Lord is my shepherd

I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:

He leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul:

He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil:

for Thou art with me;

Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies:

Thou annointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

3 thoughts on “Psalm 23

  1. Kasey November 8, 2009 / 11:53 pm

    Beautiful words from God’s Word. One of my favorites…thank you for constantly being an inspiration…xoxo..k

  2. Laurie November 9, 2009 / 1:03 am

    I am happy to read these posts! I got baptized tonight – It was a surreal feeling experiencing the birth death and living again through the process – I have strayed from god in my life and it is such a good feeling being back – I know you are on a journey I hope you find what you are looking for.. I guess that is why I was so judgmental because I am so back into Christianity I was wanting you to be too! I hope to talk to you soon – we got a new puppy so I am not confined to the house!

  3. emily hope November 12, 2009 / 9:24 pm

    its funny you should have this one verse… Ive seen it on the attorneys desk that I was seeing while going through my divorce but he changed it a little…not for the better…

    Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil:

    for Thou art with me;

    Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me.
    and no SOB // whatever i stopped reading it after that…

    Needless to say he should up to court late and made a fool out of me and didnt have any quams about asking me if my chest was real…before court… ah ya he is not representing me any more…

Leave a Reply

