Heather

The following poem was written by my dear friend Heather and inspired by the loss of our dear friend, Amy.

Where is the end of this road?
The sun has not yet lit the horizon
the hill is steep.
The blackness covers my eyes, my
ears, my feet.
The weeds tangle in a web
slowing the journey
My weary legs plod ahead with no path,
no destination. I am lost and tired.
The ground is soft, too soft, sinking, sinking.
I lift my legs, deliberate, conscious, blind, but proceeding.
I pull the weeds with my hands, raw, wounded.
They are removed. My hands will heal.
Progress, slowly, up the peak.
At the summit, the yellow and orange beacon from the east.
The light is coming, the light is coming.
I can see. I am not afraid. The day will come.

7 thoughts on “Heather

  1. jane aka faerian November 1, 2009 / 3:59 pm

    hi Leslee – do you think your friend would mind if i used the poem to send to a friend of mine whose son is in chemo for a rather nasty brain tumor – it is so full of the struggle and the hope that she feels… thankyou for posting it…

    • lesleehorner November 1, 2009 / 4:42 pm

      When Heather wrote this and sent it to us she said that Amy was giving her creativity she didn’t know she had. I think she would love it if you passed it on to your friend. Amy’s death is bringing a lot of healing…

    • heather November 1, 2009 / 8:24 pm

      Feel free to share these words with anyone who might enjoy them. Jane, I hope that your friend gains strength even as she struggles. With love- h

  2. Kasey November 1, 2009 / 7:28 pm

    Beautiful…thank you for posting. And so true…the day will come!

  3. jane aka faerian November 1, 2009 / 8:09 pm

    thankyou Leslee… there is much healing in your love and celebration of Amy…thankyou for letting me share the poem with Leigh…

  4. jane aka faerian November 1, 2009 / 8:34 pm

    you have both been very gracious about this! thankyou Heather

  5. Laurie November 1, 2009 / 10:39 pm

    Wow Heather – great poem!

Leave a Reply

