Unplugged…I Hope

This will post Friday morning and I should be unplugged.  I’m writing it on Wednesday night though.  Everyone in my house has been sick except for me.  Callee had the cold first and today there was little left of it.  Mark came home with it Monday night and today he successfully made it through an entire work day.  Bella was showing signs over the weekend and peaked today.  She has the same problem I did as a child, when she gets a cold she coughs non-stop.  I had to pick her up from school today because the cough was just too much (her teacher also thought she had a fever, although the school nurse said she didn’t).  Anyway, all of this would be just fine and something I could handle like a champ except for one small thing: we are heading to Disneyworld tomorrow.  We booked the trip about 6 weeks ago.  I came home from the gym one Saturday morning to find Mark planning a vacation.  The man who pretends to hate the place was searching the web for the best deal he could find.  Needless to say we’ve been looking forward to it ever since.

I love Disneyworld.  It is one of my favorite places on Earth.  There is just something that happens to me when I get on Disney property.  I don’t even have to be in any of the parks to feel it.  It’s a happy place.  There are down sides to it though.  The crowds, lines, food, and merchandise can get annoying.  But even with all of that, you know the huge corporate hand that’s pulling the strings, Walt’s original intention still remains the force behind it.

Since we live in Florida we get good deals on trips to Disney.  We started going when Bella was 2 and we always stay on property.  I have to say my favorite part of the trip is my early morning walk to get coffee.  I love the parks and the rides and shows, but that walk is beautiful.  I get up about 6 am, which is an hour earlier than I ever get up at home, and leave while Mark and the girls are still sleeping.  The walk usually takes about 30 minutes and I savor it.  I soak up all of that imagineering energy and use it for my own little fantasies.  I think of the most impossible yet desirable outcomes in my life and I pretend they’re not so impossible.  I see myself in places I may never go, with people I may never meet, doing things I’d just die to do.  My heart beats faster, I get goose bumps, and I feel inspired.  (I swear I’m getting butterflies in my stomach just thinking about that morning walk.)

I sat here all day today contemplating whether or not to call Disney and cancel our trip.  The girls assured me they will feel great once they get to there and I don’t doubt it.  My hope is that everyone is on the upswing tomorrow and Friday morning (as you read this) I’ll have just enjoyed that fabulous walk across the resort to the food court for coffee.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone and if I don’t reply to your comments or tweets you know why….

2 thoughts on “Unplugged…I Hope

  1. Renee October 23, 2009 / 7:19 am

    I hope everyone was feeling great by this morning! And I hope you’re having a wonderful time. I wish I shared your enthusiasm for that place, since Chris loves it. I just cant stand it there. 🙂

    When you get back, we need to talk about Wednesday. Do you want to do dinner before the concert?

  2. Kasey October 23, 2009 / 10:56 am

    What a delightful post! I hope you all are feeling 100% perfect and have a wonderful trip! I hope you have beautiful mornings to yourself as you walk to get your coffee…cheers to you…I’m drinking mine as well (just walked from the kitchen to downstairs – but as I walk upstairs…I may just try imagining something different)! 😉

Leave a Reply

