Just One Try…Really?

When our children learn to walk they take slow and unsteady steps.  They fall down, again and again.  We watch their journey to mobility and know that eventually they will reach success.  None of us ever expect them to get it right on the first try.  We, as parents, would never say to them after their first fall, that’s it, you’re done, no walking for you.

When I was a kid I played softball.  The phrase that is forever burned into my brain is “Shake it off.”  I was the strike-out queen and that’s what the coaches and parents say when you strike out.  “Shake it off, babe.  You’ll get em next time.”  There was always a next time, another chance for me to hit the ball and run the bases.  I struck out more times than I can remember, but I’ll never forget the way I felt the time I hit a triple (even though it turned out to be a foul ball).  For a brief moment I felt the glory of hitting the mark.

So as I have begun to explore spiritual topics, the subject of reincarnation has come up.  And for me this is one of the reasons that it feels like truth to me.  Our entire lives are based on practice makes perfect.  If we fail a grade or subject in school we are sent back to repeat it.  In the job market, experience is vital.  When I wrote my first novel and queried literary agents, I quickly realized that I needed to have experience to even get noticed.  I also learned that I needed to practice my craft so that I would have a product worth reading.  So what I believe is that life is exactly like this.  I think that the soul’s ultimate goal is to reach God realization or the mystic’s conciousness.  We are put here by God, to experience for God, and ultimately reunite with God.  But that is a huge task and takes much more than just one try.  We come back again and again learning different lessons along the way.  We experience all of the duality this worldly life has to offer and eventually we reach the point where we can rise above it.

I do not find comfort in accepting that this cushy life I have, in which I have been clothed, fed, cared for, and spoiled is my only try here.  I like to believe I have earned the blessings and beauty that have filled the experience in my 34 years.  I think of the woman in Darfur who has just been brutally raped and watched her husband murdered at her feet and I pray that in the next life she will be a queen.  I can’t accept that the millions of Jews that died in the Holocaust had only one chance and that one chance ended in the most inhumane suffering.  I can’t accept that Hitler murdered all of those people and doesn’t get the chance to come back and save at least one.

I believe that God is both feminine and masculine, mother and father.  I don’t know any set of parents who would expect their children to learn every lesson and get everything right with just one try.  And if I subscribe to the belief that we are made in the image and likeness of God, why would I believe that God gives me just one try to learn all of life’s lessons and return like the prodigal son?  So if you ask me why I believe in reincarnation…this is the first reason I’ll give you.

14 thoughts on “Just One Try…Really?

  1. Renee October 21, 2009 / 7:08 am

    Hitler has most certainly been reincarnated, over and over and over and over. As a sand gnat or mosquito, though, not as a human being. 😉

    • lesleehorner October 21, 2009 / 7:16 am

      Yes, a better way for him to get his Karma card punched is to come back and have to experience a lot of suffering himself. Maybe I should rewrite that Hitler part….

      • Renee October 21, 2009 / 10:19 am

        When I wrote for the paper in Georgia, I had a bi-weekly column. I had always wondered what the purpose of sand gnats (we had a ton of them) and mosquitoes was. I mean, every plant and living creature is supposed to have some purpose in the ecosystem, right?

        I couldn’t think of any reason in the natural world, so I turned to the supernatural world. My theory is that they are all someone who lived and was truly evil and terrible. And the catch is that in their insect bodies, they retain the memories of their past lives. So, Sand Gnat Hitler knows he was once a powerful world leader but is no only a blood-sucking parasite.

  2. Ghostwoods October 21, 2009 / 8:54 am

    Hi Leslee.

    I recommend having a look at Michael Newton’s Journey of Souls. Newton was a skeptical therapist who started using hypnotic regression because he believed that it gave his patients a chance to frame unconscious issues in a safe context. Then he accidentally regressed a patient to the time between lives, and was open-minded enough to do the same to a few others.

    He was astonished to discover that everyone regressed to, as he puts it, the ‘life between lives’ — regardless of culture, religion, upbringing, &c — reported the same experiences.

    The book is a record of his exploration of the phenomenon, and a guide around our life when we’re not taking a turn on the swings down here. Fascinating stuff.

    • lesleehorner October 21, 2009 / 11:07 am

      Thanks for the suggestion! I have actually read Journey of Souls and Destiny of Souls as well as a few of Brian Weiss’ books!

  3. Mark Shepard October 21, 2009 / 9:02 am

    As a hypnotherapist I’ve worked with people who had challenges in their lives that just couldn’t be explained. Working w/ their time line to clear an issue. all of a sudden a past life comes up as the root cause event. When we clear the trauma that happened in the past life. It typically solves the problem in this life.

    so there definitely seems to be a connection.

    Karma however is not “punishment” it is more like reverberations of sound or the rings in a pond caused by the toss of a stone.

    I have some pretty intense personal experiences w/ past lives that should probably blog about.

    thanx for bringing up this topic and writing so well about it!

    Mark Shepard
    http://ModernJedi.com

  4. Charlotte October 21, 2009 / 9:10 am

    Leslee – What a beautiful post. I just came over here via Twitter in the midst of a (thus far) “ahhhhhh!” kind of morning. I am glad I clicked on the link 😉 Thank you for sharing this post. It really touched me and made me think – yes you know, I am pretty lucky.

    I am not sure what I believe as far as reincarnation, it is something I have certainly thought about much over the past year or so. But it does somehow resonate with me that we are here to learn and you don’t ever learn it all at once.

    I surprised myself when one of my 6 year-old boys asked me what happens when we die and I told him that I believed we all have a number of lives. This made total sense to him – in fact he thought it was quite cool…!

    • lesleehorner October 21, 2009 / 11:08 am

      Kids know so much. I told a friend yesterday that they seem to just know the answers and only get confused when we start trying to teach them *our* answers.

  5. OpinionatedGift October 21, 2009 / 2:51 pm

    The concept of reincarnation has always made supreme sense to me, the more traditional, not so much. Seems awfully inefficient for God to just have one shot at things.

    I haven’t really used my belief in it much though over the past several years. Part of me wonders if it really matters. I’m here now.

    Maybe one day I’ll get back to applying it more.

    • lesleehorner October 21, 2009 / 5:21 pm

      I used to want to get a regression done so badly to know about past lives, but now not so much. I read a lot of Joel Goldsmith and he says that if you need to know something in order to accomplish or work through something in your current life it will come to you. I definitely believe I’ve gotten some insight with problems I’ve faced in the last year or two.

      We are here NOW and anything we need to know and/or experience will come to us. 🙂

  6. kitterztoo October 21, 2009 / 10:57 pm

    I’m not familiar with the theory/belief of reincarnation other than the definition of reincarnation so bear with me while I ask questions. Do you feel that God/higher power has a finite number of “souls” that ebb and flow as population grows and certain creatures become extinct? Or are some “retired” and new ones created?

    • lesleehorner October 21, 2009 / 11:08 pm

      *I* think that there is a number that ebb and flow (but I’m not completely convinced that new ones can’t be created). In those books that Ghostwoods suggested Newton talks about souls being at different levels of development which to me seems that could mean there are newer and older ones. I also think that souls can choose to retire. Some people I’ve talked with have said that the population is so big right now b/c this is such an amazing time to be on Earth that many/most of the souls wanted to incarnate to be involved in the changes that are occurring.

  7. Leigh October 23, 2009 / 2:17 pm

    One of your best, Leslee.

Leave a Reply

