A Love Song

So here I am late at night, well it’s 10:30 -late for me.  This is the first time I’ve let the blog get this close to the wire without having something prepared for 7am post time.  A lot of things have been on my mind today, but I’ve also had a very busy day.  At writing group tonight I was asked why I blog.  “Why do you put yourself through it?”  Someone asked.  I didn’t have a good answer to give in the moment.  We went on to talk about privacy and the importance of it.  I have been known to spew my stuff to whoever’s closest.  I have also tried to be more private and be discerning of who is trustworthy.  I try to abstain from complaining as much as possible.  But for whatever reason I have chosen to come here and let my stuff hang out.   When I read non-fiction I connect with the authors.  I have  written emails to those writers who have inspired me and introduced me to a new perspective.  Maybe that’s what I’m trying to do here.   I think I will continue doing it because I love it and  (like I read in Bridget Asher’s blog) the positive feedback feels good.  One person saying they are inspired by what they read here is worth far more than 10 people saying I suck (or whatever else).  I am rethinking the way I present my blog.  I no longer plan to post on Facebook for those of you who arrive here via that.  I have decided that if someone is meant to find me, they will.  I’m not going to hang the sign out any longer.

Now to get to the reason this post is titled “A Love Song.”  When I woke up this morning I checked Twitter and there was a re-tweet from @heavywhisper that posted a song and said something about taking away their man card for liking the song.  Well of course it sparked my curiousity and I had to listen.  I remember the song, but never really listened to it.  The lyrics are beautiful and you could even interpret it as a love song to God or at least in honor of God.  So I wanted to post it here because it touched my soul.

6 thoughts on “A Love Song

  1. lesleehorner October 15, 2009 / 10:21 am

    I did just want to add for my Twitter friends that I will still be linking the blog there. I joined Twitter as a blogger for the purpose of connecting with other writers and seekers who might like to read or allow me to read and learn from them.

  2. Sam Gwen Mohr October 15, 2009 / 12:23 pm

    I get it. I am also very open. Some might consider it naive to blindly trust. I’ve been ripped apart on the internet, via my blog and message boards, but I continue to do it with no good explanation as to why. I think it comes back to your post about being the black sheep. I may be different from everyone I know in real life, but out here in internet-land, there’s always someone who is just-like-you. I cherish the relationships I have and the friends I’ve met from being so open here.

    • lesleehorner October 15, 2009 / 8:29 pm

      I definitely believe that people long to connect to each other and this cyber-world has given us a place where people are somehow more willing to be authentic.

  3. renovatingrita October 15, 2009 / 6:38 pm

    Hi Leslee,
    Just checking in after being on the road for 10 days. Appears to have been a bit of drama happening over here! I admire your strength, both for taking the leap and standing in the fire. Your intuition lead you exactly where you needed to go. I imagine the pain was intense at times though. Kind of like your beautiful new tatt! You took something away from the experience and so did your readers. I took several little nuggets of wisdom from the discussions. But I most enjoyed your story of penny kisses. What a lovely way for your children to think of their grandfather.
    See ya ’round!
    Rita

    • lesleehorner October 15, 2009 / 8:27 pm

      Hi Rita! I’ve been thinking about you and your labyrinth this week! Glad you are back and yes it seems you missed a lot. And about those pennies, the day after I wrote that post, the girls were finding pennies all day long!

  4. OpinionatedGift October 17, 2009 / 9:33 am

    I’ve always considered this song one of my guilty pleasures because it has a touch of the sappy. But on occasion I love the sappy.

    It cracked me up that the “doo doo yas” were written out for us.

    Anyway, its a great song and I think the lyrics speak to both the need to have people be important to us and to be important to them.

Leave a Reply

