Soulmates 2

I wanted to continue talking about soulmates because I didn’t feel like one post was enough for it.  As I have started paying attention to the events in my life I notice the feelings that arise when I meet people.  When I encounter a soulmate there is a certain recognition within me.  I think that the level of attraction or even repulsion I feel, determines the impact that person will have on my life.  I felt an incredibly strong attraction to my friend and neighbor, Teresa and my meditation teacher, Rob.  Both of these people have been pivotal in my spiritual journey.  I have learned so much from the two of them and they have become my spiritual companions.

The same sort of connection happened when I started attending writing group.  It was actually Rob’s wife who put me in touch with Adrian Fogelin who then invited me to join her group.  The group is amazing and each person involved has offered me just what I needed in my growth as a writer.  They offer positive support and encouragement when I am doubting my skills and they ask the tough questions that make me examine what and why I write what I do.  I am so grateful to be a part of this group and if  (no actually not if..but when) my novels are published it will certainly be because of what I have learned from these amazing writers.  I have felt like I “belonged” with them from the first meeting I attended.

There is also another theory behind soulmates that I tend to buy into (although for some the idea is controversial or even offensive) and that is the idea of reincarnation.  Many books I’ve read and people I’ve talked with believe that those closest to us, whom we connect with the most, are people we’ve shared other lives with.  If you meet someone and are completely repelled by them without good reason it could be because in a past life the two of you had a difficult relationship.  And of course the whole idea of “love at first sight” could be because in another life you had actually been in love with the person.

Recently I read a book by Denise Linn called “Past Lives, Present Dreams” where she talked about something called “Lovemates.”  Her definition of lovemates was the definition that most people use for soulmates.  She suggests that we all have a twin soul, someone who is a mirror of us, who “completes us.”  She says that we do not share every life with this person and don’t always connect with them when we do.  She says that relationships with lovemates are sometimes difficult but when the work is done are very fulfilling and loving.  She also says that many people never find their lovemates and many others are already with their lovemates and don’t realize it.  (I like to think I’ve found mine.)

The truth about all of this…soulmates and lovemates…is that we will never have any real proof of it.  Just like so many other things, I take it with faith because it feels good to me.  I feel less alone believing I am connected beyond this physical realm with many other loved ones.

11 thoughts on “Soulmates 2

  1. randomischief October 1, 2009 / 7:56 am

    Hey! Good to know that there’re people who feel the same way 🙂 I’ve been told by my best friend’s mom and her daughter and I were soulmates. We’re really close friends but I guess we were too young to have noticed a funny feeling inside us. However, I share same feeling about joining a writer’s club. I won’t say that writing is a passion but I definitely enjoy it. And oh! If you haven’t read this book, and if you’d like to find out more on soulmates, you should check this out: Conversations with God, Neale Donald Walsh. Cheers!

    • lesleehorner October 1, 2009 / 8:39 am

      Thanks for your comment, randomischief! I have read the Conversations with God books. I’m sure it would be worth it to revisit them sometime. That Denise Linn book I mentioned here had some good soulmate info. too!

  2. Lisa October 1, 2009 / 8:42 am

    I can definitely agree with this. It’s SO awesome to have people that you really connect with.

  3. truthwalker October 2, 2009 / 1:59 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of the soulmate concept as normally applied, but I do believe that some people just fit. My wife and I thought we were soulmates when we first met, but now in reflection were not.

    We didn’t become soulmates until I converted to atheism. When I de-conned it was a big deal, because our marriage had been so God centered. She admitted she wouldn’t have married me if I was an atheist at the time, and I said I would not have married her either.

    We started fresh that day, with the belief that either of us could leave the relationship if they wanted to and we would try to work out a divorce fairly and respectfully.

    It was amazing how different the relationship was when neither one of us had to be there out of duty, and we both chose the other person out of love! It was a high unlike any chemical I’ve ever had. Some of that high has worn off now, years later, but we still have an amazing love, something I don’t see in anyone elses’ relationship. The knowledge that each person could be with the someone else if they wanted to, but neither of us wants to, makes us both feel so special. We really treasure each other.

  4. truthwalker October 2, 2009 / 2:00 pm

    Wow, you wanna fix my typos in that? I sound like an idiot!

    • lesleehorner October 2, 2009 / 2:12 pm

      I fixed the typos, I think. Loved the comment! A nice place to get to, where you just love each other and don’t have an unhealthy need for or obligation to one another.

  5. randomischief October 4, 2009 / 4:57 pm

    Wow, truthwalker. I really respect your courage, many couples, including my parents have stayed with each other to the extent that (I think) they’ve lost sight of themselves.

  6. julian October 6, 2009 / 4:42 pm

    Hi Leslee…
    Found your post in the reincarnation tag.

    I found a great book by a guy named Dr. Michael Newton which speaks to this subject. It’s called Journey of Souls (actually I think he has three or four books written on the subject) where he documents the life in between lives by transcribing what is said by patients he puts into deep hypnosis.

    It’s pretty fascinating.

    ~jules

    • lesleehorner October 6, 2009 / 5:33 pm

      Thanks so much for the comment Julian! I actually have read Journey of Souls and Destiny of Souls (I think that’s the title of the 2nd one). Very fascinating, he made me a true believer. I also have read a few of Brian Weiss’ books. He’s good too!

  7. Amanda October 13, 2009 / 2:31 pm

    Can I pose an interesting question? What if someone has the *opposite* of a soulmate in their life? It is that person that holds them stagnant, holds them back from really evolving as an individual that can contribute to the good of the world. What would we call them?

    (there is a reason that I ask that question)…

    • lesleehorner October 13, 2009 / 2:58 pm

      Well I think everyone serves their purpose in your life. They fulfill a need for you at the time they arrive. And when that relationship has reached the point where it is no longer beneficial in the growth of the soul it begins to fade. The key is listening to the intuition and knowing when it has reached that point. I think you get plenty of nudges that a change is necessary and eventually if you ignore the nudges you might find yourself getting pushed off the cliff (maybe even handcuffed and blindfolded too).

Leave a Reply

