Thank You Alanis

I used to listen to Alanis Morissette with my best friend in college.  I never owned the CD (the one with You Oughta Know on it) but Kristin did and we were together enough that I burned out on it as if it was my own.  All of those songs were so great and Alanis got extremely popular and then very overplayed and disappeared for a while.  She came back a couple of years later with this new song called Thank You.  It was catchy and I sang along to it although I never truly got it.  The line “Thank you India” threw me the most.  At the time I didn’t know the significance of India and why people would travel there.

What I now know is that some people travel to India to visit ashrams and study with Gurus.  A true Guru is a mystic that has reached enlightenment and the realization of their oneness with God.  They will often have a following of individuals, much like Jesus did with his disciples.  But you don’t have to be a follower of any particular Guru to visit an ashram in India or elsewhere.  You can go just for the experience of spending days or weeks in sacred silence and  studying yoga or meditation.  The idea of taking a trip like this to India is very appealing to me.  But since it will be years before I am able to participate in that kind of experience (probably after the girls are adults), I carve out my “India” time where I can.  I spend 20-40 minutes a day in silent meditation, I attend retreats and workshops (I even got to go to an ashram here in Florida and meet and listen to Yogi Amrit Desai), I do Yoga and chanting from time to time, read lots of spiritual books, and do my very best to notice God working in my life.

Last weekend I visited Kristin and she told me that she’d listened to Thank You and that it reminded her of me.  She played it for me.  It had been years since I’d heard the song.  I got chills listening to it.  Below are the lyrics and I’ve put in bold letters those that spoke to me the most.  To me, life is about raising your consciousness and opening up to what is real in this life (which in my opinion is God and Love).  You learn how to do this through every experience, good and bad.  That’s what I get from this song….

How about getting off of these antibiotics
How about stopping eating when I’m filled up
How about them transparent dangling carrots
How about that ever elusive kudo

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you thank you silence

How about me not blaming you for everything
How about me enjoying the moment for once
How about how good it feels to finally forgive you
How about grieving it all one at a time

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you thank you silence

The moment I let go of it was
The moment I got more than I could handle
The moment I jumped off of it was
The moment I touched down

How about no longer being masochistic
How about remembering your divinity
How about unabashedly bawling your eyes out
How about not equating death with stopping

Thank you India
Thank you providence
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you nothingness
Thank you clarity
Thank you thank you silence


8 thoughts on “Thank You Alanis

  1. Kasey September 22, 2009 / 7:46 pm

    Excellent post…brought back some memories for me…and what a great tune, thanks for writing this Leslee! Love ya!

    • lesleehorner September 22, 2009 / 7:50 pm

      Thank you Kasey! Love you too!

  2. eastkentuckygal September 22, 2009 / 8:50 pm

    I had never thought twice about that song, having been burnt out with the first CD as well. It’s great to hear an artist grow and sometimes that growth is overlooked. I’m working on the meditation part of my life. 20-40 minutes – wow! There is such an awareness that nothingness brings. Those lyrics make it obvious she found it.

  3. Renee September 22, 2009 / 9:33 pm

    There are three Alanis songs that really give me chills, they’re so profound. This was never one of my favorites, but different things speak to different people. Music can be very profound.

  4. OpinionatedGift September 23, 2009 / 11:21 am

    I’ve always loved this song. I think she’s great, even when she got the definition of ironic wrong.

    This song is an anthem of humility, perseverance and hard won victories.

    Thanks for reminding me of it, its been too long since I’ve listened.

    • lesleehorner September 29, 2009 / 10:44 am

      Thanks for visiting and commenting Kelli! You can just subscribe with the RSS feed. I noticed you were in “Bully.” That is one of my favorite movies. It has been a long time since I saw it though, I may have to rent it again to see you!

  5. carmelo blandino February 22, 2010 / 10:23 pm

    Great Post! It’s great to revisit some of these songs and see what we liked about them in the first place and why we were attracted to them without realizing the depth of their meaning.
    It just clicked…. Thankyou.

Leave a Reply

