(My Side Of)The Truth is Out…

So this weekend I had my first cyber meet up!  After months of tweeting back and forth, @2MuchPerfection and I realized that we live within an hour of each other.  More months have passed that we’ve been tweeting back and forth that we should get together and Saturday night we finally did it.  Tara and her husband came down from Georgia to meet me (and Kelly) at Pockets Pool Hall to watch Spatial K (Mark’s band) play.

I had a very busy day on Saturday with the workshop so I didn’t have much time to think about my evening out.  If I had had the luxury of time I would probably have made myself very nervous.  I mean seriously, you think you stop dating when you find someone, settle down and get married, but that is just not true.  I quickly learned when I left Charlotte, North Carolina and all the friends that had come so easily into my life by way of high school and college, that making friends is just like dating.  So here I was on another first “date” and not just any “date” but a “date” with someone from the internet.  We’ve been going back and forth on Twitter and our blogs telling each other how great we are, so the question remained…would we still think that after this meet up (or tweet up rather)?

So Kelly and I arrived at Pockets about 20 minutes later than I planned to (babysitter was late) and discovered Tara and her husband had arrived early. The band had just finished their first set.  I was able to introduce myself, Kelly, and Mark and grab a beer without yelling over the music. That was nice.  Tara was just like I imagined, but with a great southern accent.  I loved it and for some reason had completely left it out when I had pictured meeting her.  I guess since we only communicate via the web, I forget that we both come from the south.  After I sat down and explained why we were late, Tara told me she had texted me to tell me they were early.  I said “OH, that’s what that was” and pulled out my phone to show her the blinking red light (yes, really,  I am that dumb when it comes to cell phones).  She opened my phone, found the message, and showed it to me.  Luckily I had already explained to her that I don’t really use my cell phone, so the whole incident just proved I was telling the truth.  After that it was lots of good music and lots of beer (at least for me) and lots of trying to have conversation over the good music.

It was nice to have real conversation and say what we wanted to in more that 130 characters!  It was nice to meet in person without my beautifully tweeked avatar (Seriously @RockstarCarlene made my picture look so good) and the backspace button.  Overall it was a very good first “date”!  I can’t wait to take my girls to meet “the Wutz.” (And yes, Uncle Jeff, she does know what wutz means, the person who chose the nickname is of German decent.)  And it is safe to say that @2MuchPerfection is as fucking awesome in person as she is online!

6 thoughts on “(My Side Of)The Truth is Out…

  1. Lisa September 16, 2009 / 8:29 am

    So neat that you guys got to meet up!

  2. moderndaystoryteller September 16, 2009 / 8:36 am

    What a great story. Have met some sharp and witty minds on twitter. Would be a trip to meet them “in the flesh”. The accent was an interesting point you brought up. People always sound different in your mind, sort of like hearing actors read your script for the very first time.

  3. Tara September 16, 2009 / 9:09 am

    *hehehe* You said ‘fucking’!

    I really thought it was a great first ‘date’ too. I had a wonderful time and I look forward to us getting together again.

    You are an amazing person and it was so much fun to get to spend time with you (and Kelly)!

    • lesleehorner September 16, 2009 / 10:33 am

      I totally said the F word, Beavis (or Butthead I don’t remember which one laughs like that).

  4. Renee September 16, 2009 / 9:30 am

    Aw! I wish I could have made it Saturday. Sounds like you guys had a great time. I really need to explore Twitter more. Makes it difficult since I can’t get on at work and don’t have much time at home. 😦

  5. OpinionatedGift September 16, 2009 / 10:29 am

    Thumbs up.

    Its been a long time since I’ve met anyone I’ve met on the internet. Its always so great when you end up liking people real time.

    But this doesn’t surprise me. You do both rock.

Leave a Reply

