The Journey Begins

As I am writing this it is Sunday evening, August 23, 2009.  I just began packing my first school lunch as a mom.  Sure, on occasion the girls stayed for “lunch bunch” at their preschools but this is the real deal.  Bella starts kindergarten tomorrow.  The journey begins.  As we were sitting in the cafeteria during the pizza lunch at orientation Friday afternoon, Mark brought it to my attention that now we are starting school all over again.  I didn’t much care for school as a student (or a teacher for that matter).  The first day of school always terrified me.  I was a quiet, day-dreamer, which added pressure for me.  There was always the fear that I wouldn’t be outgoing enough to make friends or that I’d get called on in class in one of those  moments when I was off in another world.  I was the happiest in school when I was given an assignment I could get lost in.  I recall that happening in Geometry, Art, Yearbook, and English.  So now I start the whole process over again, standing on a side I’ve never stood before.  I’ve been the student and the teacher, now I’m the mom.  I’m not sure at this moment what my wishes are for Bella.  I’m hoping that at least kindergarten will be blissful for her.

Bella, on the other hand, is relaxed right now.  She is easy-going in these type situations, so we haven’t done a lot of talking and preparing.  I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but right now the only person feeling any anxiety is me.  I was the one disappointed to find that none of her friends from preschool were in her class.  She didn’t even ask or seem to notice.  She’s open to and up for this new adventure.  And I am hanging in here, doing my best not to project my fears on to her.

So tomorrow (or today as you read this) on August 24, 2009, I embark on another journey through school that will last for at least the next 15 years.  Can you say YIKES?!?!?!

4 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

  1. Renee August 24, 2009 / 7:35 am

    She’ll be fine! Kids that age make friends so easily.

    I was always the quiet one, but people just came to me. Almost all of my friends approached me first because I was too shy to talk to other people. But I always had a lot of friends, and GOOD FRIENDS. I still have friends from even before I was in school and many from after I started. Just relax and let your kids find their paths. They will. 🙂

  2. Alison August 24, 2009 / 7:25 pm

    I hope everything went well for you guys today. My kids started school the 13th of August and I know I was really stressed about it for weeks leading up to “the big day”. Partly I was stressed because Jakey kept saying all he wanted to do was stay home with me all day 😦 I miss my boy during the day, but he has done far better than I ever expected him to. Bella has always seemed to do better than you were expecting from what I remember too, though it’s been a while since we’ve seen you guys. Hope the day went smoothly for all! I know I never comment on your blog, but I do read it very regularly. Keep up the good work!!!!! 🙂

    • lesleehorner August 24, 2009 / 7:35 pm

      Today actually went great! Bella seemed very content at the end of the day. Her only complaint was that it was a little boring (since they focused mostly on rules and routine today) and the playground was not as exciting as she hoped. I think she will enjoy the year! Callee was the one I had to worry about today…she actually cried when we left her at TIP! Thanks for reading, Alison! It was great to see your name pop up!

  3. Amanda September 3, 2009 / 12:11 pm

    I’m having to get caught up – thank goodness for RSS feeds so I’m not missing any of your posts! I’m glad the day went well – I remember when Patrick started kindergarten, we sent him off, and then I cried like a baby all the way to work. 🙂 With Meghan, it went a little better for me (she of course was FINE)…

    I think we impart our unease on them – you did great! (far better than I did obviously!)

Leave a Reply

