Books

I have always been on this path.  Everything, no matter how good or bad or mundane, that has happened in my life has brought me to this moment.  I haven’t always truly understood that though.  “Everything happens for a reason” is something I’ve been saying for years…but mostly as a pep talk to myself in difficult times.  Now a days I am very aware of the path, the process, and the lessons along the way.  I have some very wise and spiritual friends  whom I have learned a lot from, but most of my knowledge and awareness has come from books.

A lot of people scoff at self-help books, but that is where it started with me.  I never went to the library or bookstore seeking answers to my life’s problems.  I was very content with my life.  It really was that the books found me.  It started with that Oprah episode and The Secret.  After I got really interested in learning more about the Law of Attraction a friend of mine lent me a Wayne Dyer book.  Wayne Dyer became my first teacher…in the form of his books.  I think I read 10 of them.  I love him, he’s great and the funny thing is that at least 3 times recently when I have been down and discouraged I turn on PBS and find Wayne Dyer giving one of his famous talks.  He’s become my angel of optimism who shows up when I need him most!

Despite my love of writing, I have never been an avid reader.  The love of books comes in waves and bursts with me.  But that changed when I started reading books that taught me about positive thinking and spirituality.  I have not been without a book to read since 2007.  I consider it a part of my devotional time.  The books I read remind me that I am a child of God, that I am a part of his spirit and his spirit is a part of me (even if they don’t use the word God).  They remind me that love is stronger than fear and anything born from that love can become reality.  They tell me that my thoughts are prayers and I should take care as to what I am praying for.  Most importantly they have shown me that I am an instrument and all I need is the Faith strong enough to let my purpose find me and carry me home!

So yes, I read a lot of books and sometimes I even believe what I read.  If the message resonates with me and opens my heart a little, I try to put it to good use.  One thing I have noticed on a lot of blogs is that people have “give-aways.”  It has recently dawned on me that I can have “give-aways” on my blog too.  I’ve decided to start giving away my favorite books.  I hold onto them always thinking I’ll return to them.  I rarely do.  I think it would be an even greater gift to pass along the books to others.  Starting tomorrow, I am going to have a monthly or bi-monthly (haven’t decided yet) book give-away.  The first book will be “Creative Visualization” by Shakti Gawain (my copy is much older than the one featured on Amazon) since I have blogged about that one recently.  So check back tomorrow for the details!

6 thoughts on “Books

  1. Renee August 7, 2009 / 7:14 am

    In college, I had to take a wellness class and I took creative visualization. How funny is that?

    • lesleehorner August 7, 2009 / 8:11 pm

      That is so awesome that you had the opportunity to take an entire class on creative visualization!

  2. Amanda August 7, 2009 / 9:40 am

    Everything helps, Leslie! And passing it onto others is the best thing you could possibly do. 🙂

  3. nickel pickle August 8, 2009 / 8:19 am

    I would love to be entered. Good morning from SITS!

    • lesleehorner August 8, 2009 / 8:22 am

      Comment on the post Book Give-Away #1 for me so I make sure I don’t miss your entry. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  4. Lissa Rankin August 14, 2009 / 11:09 pm

    Love your book ideas! Thank you so much for posting your contest for Pinkies! Creative visualization? Amen. Bring it on! I just love your idea to start giving away your favorite books. I read about a book a week and long ago realized I couldn’t hang on to the books I love the most, or I’d have to get rid of my husband, child, and dog! What a brilliant idea, honey!

Leave a Reply

