Rain

It has been raining a lot here lately and a few days ago, I came to my WordPress Dashboard and quickly typed “Rain” as the title of a blog post.  Today I read this quote on one of my friend’s Facebook Status updates:

“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass….It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

That quote made me want to revisit or rather write my post on the topic.

I’ve never much liked rain.  Rainy days make me sleepy and depressed.  No matter how “needed” it is, I’m always the one wishing it away.  When I was a teacher, rainy days were the worst because that meant that the kids had to stay indoors.  No recess for the kids, no rest for the teachers.  It was the same when I was a kid.  I’d much rather have been outdoors then inside playing “heads up, seven up” (or whatever that game was called).  I also don’t like to be in the rain.  Yuck!  There is nothing worse than getting rained on and stepping into puddles.  Squishy shoes suck!

This summer I have had to face my hatred for rain head on.  It started on the drive home from NC. (Did I mention I hate driving in the rain too?)  We had been driving for 3 or so hours and the girls needed a potty break.  It started pouring right as we found a rest stop.  The next one was 60 miles away and I didn’t want to get too far off the interstate, so we stopped, rain and all.  I unbuckled the girls, pulled them out of the car and proceeded to drag them as fast as their little legs could go to the cover.  Run, Run, Run!!  By the time we made it to the restroom we were pretty wet.  As we left the bathroom we discovered it was raining even harder.  I weighed my options, but decided staying on schedule was more important than staying dry, so we left the shelter and made a run for it.  Midway to the car, I looked at the girls and how delighted they were to be experiencing this rain and I decided to slow down.  I walked the rest of the way to the car, paying attention to the way the rain felt on my skin, and realized that it was wonderful.  Once in the car, the water dried quickly…no permanent damage was done.

Last Sunday afternoon, Mark and I took the girls for a walk to the pond at the end of our street.  I love going down there.  We sit in the gazebo and feed bread to the fish and turtles.  It’s become one of my favorite spots, a place that always calms me.  On Sunday though, it started raining.  Mark was quick to suggest we go, so we left the shelter of the gazebo and headed back towards our house.  Before long the sky fell out and Mark grabbed the girls’ hands yelling “Run, Run, Run.”  I did the opposite.  I slowed my pace, held out my arms, tilted my head back, and let nature remind me how alive I am.  I didn’t dance though…maybe next time I’ll try that!

7 thoughts on “Rain

  1. Leslie August 6, 2009 / 9:00 am

    Here in Central Texas, we have had about 50 days without rain…I wish I could have some of your rain to hate!

  2. Kasey August 6, 2009 / 11:46 am

    Great post, Leslee! I love the rain too!! 🙂

  3. Lisa August 6, 2009 / 2:13 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the rain!

  4. eastkentuckygal August 6, 2009 / 4:43 pm

    The rain has been seemingly neverending here. I just wrote a post about how the rain was the cause of my malaise over the last days. I’ll be posting it tonight. I wrote about how I wanted one nice day to take Deladis to the lake to swim. Sure enough, after writing the post, the rain subsided and it turned out to be a lovely day – we went swimming. I don’t mind rain once every few days, but consecutive days on end is so hard. We have to park so far from our cabin, and trying to carry groceries across muddy embankments is hard, and we often get flooded in the holler, so that bites. Otherwise, yah rain! Inspiring post. You are an inspirational woman. 🙂 We should embrace the natural world and stop trying to fight it.

  5. Frelle August 6, 2009 / 5:35 pm

    Im glad you took time out to enjoy the rain, the sensation and the thinking about it. The quote you started with is one of my favorites, too. I will try to remember to dance in the rain next time!

  6. Christi August 7, 2009 / 11:12 am

    Love this post! What misery we can find in things – when we need to find the fun in everything! That quote is a favorite of mine – it is so true! Because compared to other things people go thru in life we are so blessed!

    • lesleehorner August 7, 2009 / 1:36 pm

      I’m glad to see you commenting again, Christi, I missed you! Love you!

Leave a Reply

