Crossroads

The written word is a tricky thing.  When you write something you may have in mind exactly what you are trying to say, but everyone else who reads it applies their own ideas to it and it can become something totally different.  I have now been blogging for about two months.  When I look at my blog stats and comments I see that I have some people who read my thoughts daily.  I’ve gotten mostly good feedback but a little bit of negative feedback.  The funny thing is that I have written an entire blog about letting things go and I’m having trouble letting go of some of the responses.

So the crossroads I am sitting at is which direction to take the blog and my writing.  I am realizing that my creative writing needs to be a little more creative.  When I sit down to edit my novels or write new ones I need to make my characters look a little more like characters and a little less like the people who have been in my life.  The truth is that no matter how good or bad I think the character is, the person who believes they are that character will only see what they believe about themselves -whether good or bad.  This could lead to them loving me or hating me.  As far as the blog goes, I need to decide how much of me and my “stuff” I really want to put out there.  It’s not that I’m really concerned with what people think about me (at least as long as they don’t tell me).  I know I’ve been on a soap box in several of my post and I’m sure some readers didn’t take too kindly to it.  I can also think of at least one post where the reaction was probably “Yikes, that wasn’t a nice thing to say.” (or worse).  What I am most concerned with is figuring out how to write about my life, the things that affect me and change me, without hurting others.  One option I have thought of is to just not write about people…but I’ve realized that would probably leave me with maybe 2 post a week.  I learn a lot from the people in my life.  I learn from the good things and the not so good things.  So as long as the ideas keep coming I am going to keep writing.  I will try to be empathetic and careful as I reflect on my relationships, without censoring myself too much.  My hope has always been that through this blog people will either be inspired or feel like they’re not in the boat alone (or maybe both)!

I would love for you to comment and share your favorite posts so far! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Crossroads

  1. Amanda July 1, 2009 / 7:43 am

    I for one am now addicted to your blog. It comes to my email when you post a new article, and I always look forward to it.

    I see what you are saying, and can appreciate that you care so much that you want to make sure that you don’t hurt anyone…but be true to yourself. What I appreciate is the very fact that you are true. You put yourself and your thoughts out there, as well as some extremely creative thoughts, and it makes *me* see things in a different way sometimes. 🙂

  2. Renee July 1, 2009 / 8:14 am

    I just want you to know I may not comment every day but I read this every morning. 🙂

  3. heather July 1, 2009 / 5:57 pm

    No censoring – please. Express yourself. Part of self discovery is recognizing that you are an autonomous person – you do not require approval from all others – you have the strength to express your own ideas, generate discussion and as someone told me today, “eat your mistakes with relish” and know you will gain strength from them…. don’t be deterred or censor yourself. You cannot please everyone and the ambition to do so will be fruitless.

    • lesleehorner July 1, 2009 / 6:21 pm

      Well said Heather…maybe you should be a guest blogger here sometime! 🙂

  4. OpinionatedGifts July 2, 2009 / 2:07 am

    Years ago I was given a black t-shirt by either my mother or my ex-wife, I honestly don’t remember which.

    On the t-shirt is a picture of William Shakespeare holding a small cup of steaming brew. The caption: Espresso Thyself.

    Words to live by on every level.

  5. rockstarcarlene July 6, 2009 / 11:44 am

    I think I am the voice of many when I say that I love unfettered glimpses inside the lives of other people, particularly people who walk similar paths to mine.

    And not to be totally inappropriate, but rock out with your c*ck out, be who you are, and get over the people who don’t “get” what you’re doing. They’re not *your* people anyhow.

  6. Leigh July 8, 2009 / 10:07 am

    I’m the queen of energetic enthusiasm which means I’m the person most likely to pop out with something that can be taken the wrong way. Still, I don’t believe in being politically correct, I believe in being politically honest.

  7. julian October 9, 2009 / 11:22 am

    I used to blog in anonymity but that has changed as you found out from my honesty post. I’ve always tried to respect the privacy of others, particularly my daughter and step sons but I’ve never changed the name of any person written about on my blog (except one person at her request).

    I think you’ve got the right idea… “I will try to be empathetic and careful as I reflect on my relationships, without censoring myself too much.

    Balance… it’s all about balance. Be true to yourself but know that you will have to censor yourself a little. Write about your relationship to others in the world but know you will need to be careful about their identity.

    [Read from beginning to here since yesterday evening… still lovin’ this blog. : )]

Leave a Reply

